O’Rourke jumps into automatic spot on Order of Merit

Munster Strokeplay Championship 2016

Ian O’Rourke

Ian O’Rourke made a jump of seven places on the Munster Senior Order of Merit thanks to his top eight finish at the East of Ireland at Co Louth.  The Cobh native had two great under par rounds on the final day to jump up the leaderboard.  O’Rourke is now in third place on the order of merit, and more importantly holds one of the four automatic places.  Cathal Butler made the cut at the East to extend his lead at the top of the table and Gary O’Flaherty remains in second place after a very strong May.  Andrew McCormack drops down to fourth place and there are three players tied for fifth place.  Mark Shanahan, Robin Dawson and James Sugrue are all on 90 points, just 10 points behind McCormack.

There are just three official events remaining on the calendar, the British Amateur takes place this weekend with Eanna Griffin, Geoff Lenehan and John Hickey all hoping to make the draw.  The Connacht Strokeplay also takes place this weekend,  and the Kerry Scratch Cup (Tralee) takes place the following weekend.

Munster Senior Order of Merit (after 11 Events)*

Pos. Name Total
1 Cathal Butler 150
2 Gary O’Flaherty 120
3 Ian O’Rourke 110
4 Andrew McCormack 100
5 Mark Shanahan 90
6 Robin Dawson 90
7 James Sugrue 90
8 John Hickey 85
9 Pat Murray 65
10 Eanna Griffin 60
11 Dave Redden 45
12 Geoff Linehan 45
13 Mark Ford 40
14 Peter O’Keeffe 30
15 Sean Barry 30
16 Gary Ward 30
17 Thomas Neenan 30
18 Ian Spillane 30
19 Declan King 30
20 Daniel Brennan 30
21 Fergal O’Sullivan 25
22 Ian O’Flynn 20
23 Mark Healy 20
24 Gavin Young 20
25 Daniel Hallissy 20
26 Emmet Leahy 20
27 C O’Donnell 20
28 Jack Ryan 15
29 Paul Tobin 15
30 Paul Flynn 15

Repairit-ie_1*Based on results received from host clubs, using the published weightings for each event, this is an unofficial list