Gallery: Munster Golf Awards 2019

Pictures from the awards evening in Mallow:

Muskerry win Fred Daly Trophy 2019

Fred Daly Trophy Munster Finals 2019Muskerry claimed another Munster Pennant on Monday, they won the Munster Final of the Fred Daly Trophy in Clonmel.  This was their second win in three years, having reached the final in 2017, 2018 and 2019.  This year marks the third of a three year cycle with the current players, and four of the team who were beaten in last years final returned this year to win in style.  Twelve months ago Eoghan O’Shaughnessy was the player who lost out on the third playoff hole at the final in Nenagh.  This year he was first to finish, wrapping up his match on the 13th green with a 6&5 win.  That put the first point on the board for Muskerry and Stephen Riordan added a second soon after with a Continue reading

Munster Students win for Desmond

AIG Senior Cup Area Semi Finals 2018
Cork Golf Club
Sunday 24th June 2018Monkstown’s Sean Desmond won the Munster Students title in Tipperary today, holding onto his second round lead.   It was a steady round for Desmond, on hiw way to a first championship win.  A birdie on the fourth put him into the red on -1 for the tournament, but he bogied the next hole to go back to level par.  Another bogey followed on the 10th but that was the last error and the Monkstown man parred his way back to the clubhouse to finish on +1 for the tournament.  Paul Conroy (Enniscorthy) took second place after a closing 72, two shots behind on +3 while Tom Dowdall (Woodbrook) took third place on +6.  Maynooth A, represented by Darragh Flynn, Aaron Ryan and Robert Abernethy won the team prize.

Gary Ward was the next best Cork player, he was tenth while Paul Tobin and Mark Healy both finished in the top twenty.  Desmond now adds his name Continue reading

Fred Perry Trophy Results & R3 Fixtures

Munster Golf LogoRound 1 Results
Douglas bt Cobh 3.5/1.5
Raffeen Creek bt Mahon 3/2
East Cork bt Fermoy 4/1
Skibbereen bt Glengarriff 3.5/1.5
Blarney w/o Clonakilty (w/d)
Muskerry bt Mallow 4/1

Round 2 Results
Douglas w/o Castlemartyr (w/d)
Raffeen Creek w/o Cork (w/d)
Monkstown bt Lee Valley 4/1
East Cork bt Fota Island 3/2
Skibbereen bt Kinsale 3/2
Dunmore bt Blarney 4/1
Bandon bt Bantry Bay 3/2
Macroom bt Muskerry 3.5/1.5

Round 3 Fixtures:
East Cork -v- Bandon
Raffeen Creek -v- Douglas
Dunmore -v- Skibbereen
onkstown -v- Macroom