Harbour Shield goes from strength to strength

Golf_Harbour Shield_Presentation_Oct 2014

2014 Winners Mahon

The inaugural Shield was held in 2009 and it that year there were just four clubs involved.  Over the years it grew to six clubs and then eight, and this year there were ten clubs involved.  Although there is no handicap limit and the age limit is under 18, clubs have used the competition for their developing golfers as an introduction to inter-club competition.  Although there is a huge amount of merit in winning the pennant, over the past eight years, clubs have respected the spirit of the competition.  In almost all circumstances, clubs have selected the younger golfers in their junior golf programme, and those who often have high handicaps.


Mahon’s Matt Bennett and Pat Bradley were the original drivers behind the new competition in 2009 and over the course of the past eight years Bennett estimates that over 1,000 you golfers from Cork have played in the competition.  Many of those golfers have gone on to compete in the Fred Daly Trophy and the Fred Daly Plate, and several have gone on to represent their clubs at senior inter-club events.  Since the inaugural competition in 2009, Matt Bennett has been running the competition and great credit is due for his drive and enthusiasm.  As usual a competition was held over the mid-term break.  The format was a team stableford competition, with the teams being mixed to promote the social side of the game.  Cobh Golf Club hosted the event and the course was in great condition and the scoring was very impressive for the 16 hole competition.  The winners on the day were David O’Sullivan (Douglas), Deane Browne (Blarney), Sean O’Flynn (Lee Valley) and Keith Webb (Kinsale), they came home with a very impressive 84 points for their 16 holes.  They finished with one shot to spare over the field of over ten teams.  James Hickey (East Cork), David Shanahan (Cork), Dylan Danagher (Blarney) and Cillian Ryan (Kinsale) were second with 83 points.  Third place went to Shane Williams (Douglas), Darragh Murphy (Blarney), Diarmuid Nolan (Lee Valley) and Scott Walsh (Cobh).  The trio finished with 81 points.

Smartphones Direct


Golf_Harbour Shield_Presentation_Oct 2014