Closing Date for Strokeplay approaching

The Cork Scratch Cup

The Cork Scratch Cup

The closing date for the Munster Strokeplay is fast approaching, with entries closing on Saturday evening.  The 72 hole event takes place over two days on the May Bank Holiday weekend, with the winner picking up the famous Cork Scratch Cup.  Although the event has been a Munster Championship for over a decade, the cup dates back to 1923 making it the oldest scratch cup in the country.  Already a number of the top Irish amateurs have entered and more will follow over the coming days.  Entries are limited to the lowest 75 golfers, with the top 39 golfers qualifying for the final two rounds.  The championship is again sponsored by Liam Ryan from Ryan’s SuperValu.  There’s just a few days left to enter, and the link to the tournament page is below:

Online Entry: Munster Strokeplay

The cup and base holds the names of the all of the winners.  The trophy was presented by William Dwyer,  and the Cork stalwart won it in himself in 1924.  The trophy bears the names of the great Cork Golf Club golfers.  Crosbie, Simcox, Bruen and Higgins are all represented, with Jimmy Bruen claiming four consecutive title from 1938-1941.  There was a gap of four years during the war and Redmond Simcox won his fourth title in 1947 when the competition resumed.  Simcox was one of three golfers to win the title five times, GF Crosbie and Denis O’Sullivan being the other two.  Jimmy Bruen won it four times, as did Tom Cleary and JD McCormack.  The competition was played as a matchplay event for many years, and when it was subsumed into the Munster Strokeplay in 2006 it became a 72 hole strokeplay competition.  Conor Doran (Banbridge) won the initial staging, and Niall Gorey (Muskerry) went on to win three of the next five titles.  Barry Anderson (The Royal Dublin) added to his 2014 title in 2017 and in doing so joined a small elite group of multiple winners in the past 40 years.  Alan Fahy is the holder, after winning by one shot last year.

Cork Scratch Cup Winners 1923-2005, & Munster Strokeplay Championship (incorporating the Cork Scratch Cup) winners 2006-2018

1923 J F Nicholson 1955 Capt John Fitzgibbon 1987 John Morris Jnr
1924 William Dwyer 1956 G F Crosbie 1988 John G Kavanagh
1925 J D McCormack 1957 M  Power 1989 Tom Cleary
1926 J D McCormack 1958 J Murray 1990 Niall Goulding
1927 W R Ogilvie 1959 T Higgins 1991 Niall Goulding
1928 Redmond Simcox 1960 T W Egan 1992 Garry Murphy
1929 D J Collins 1961 J Bowen 1993 Pat Murray
1930 D J Collins 1962 G F Crosbie 1994 Denis O’Sullivan
1931 W R Ogilvie 1963 Edward Higgins 1995 Denis O’Sullivan
1932 J D McCormack 1964 G F Crosbie 1996 Kieran McCarthy
1933 G Crosbie Jnr 1965 G H McCormack 1997 Pat Lyons
1934 Redmond Simcox 1966 Edward Higgins 1998 Gary Murphy
1935 W M O’Sullivan 1967 Liam Higgins 1999 Padraig Dooley
1936 J D McCormack 1968 Liam Higgins 2000 Michael O’Kelly
1937 A W Briscoe 1969 T W Egan 2001 Karl Bornemann
1938 J Bruen Jnr 1970 J Bowen 2002 Tom Cleary
1939 J Bruen Jnr 1971 T Craddock 2003 Pat Lyons
1940 J Bruen Jnr 1972 F Wright 2004 Tom Cleary
1941 J Bruen Jnr 1973 L D Goulding 2005 Dermot Costelloe
1942 Redmond Simcox 1974 B G Streather 2006 Conor Doran
1943 1975 J Mehigan 2007 Niall Gorey
1944 1976 T P O’Brien 2008 Niall Gorey
1945 1977 A D Pierse 2009 Pat Murray
1946 1978 B McDaid 2010 Rory Leonard
1947 Redmond Simcox 1979 Brian Begley 2011 Niall Gorey
1948 G F Crosbie 1980 M L Guerin 2012 Brian Casey
1949 Redmond Simcox 1981 D F O’Sullivan 2013 Kieran McCarthy
1950 W M O’Sullivan 1982 D F O’Sullivan 2014 Barry Anderson
1951 M  Power 1983 J G Fitzgerald 2015 Shaun Carter
1952 W M O’Sullivan 1984 D F O’Sullivan 2016 Cathal Butler
1953 G F Crosbie 1985 Arthur Pierse 2017 Barry Anderson
1954 M  Power 1986 Tom Cleary 2018 Alan Fahy