Cork’s Top Golfers to challenge in Lahinch

Douglas Golf Club Reception for Peter O'Keeffe, Irish Amateur Open Champion 2017.  Wednesday 17th May2017A dozen Cork golfers will be hoping to bridge a 13 year gap and win the South of Ireland Championship this week.  Mallow’s Meryvn Owens was the last man to bring the famous trophy back to Cork in 2003, when he beat the holder Colm Moriarty on the 18th green in Lahinch.  Cork winners have been few and far between, John McHenry won in 1986 and before that there’s a 22 year gap to W A Kelleher’s win.  The statistics would suggest that a few more years should pass before the next Cork winner, but given the strength and depth of the Cork golfers competing this year, don’t rule out a good run from a few of the form golfers.

Irish Amateur Open winner Peter O’Keeffe leads the Cork challenge, and O’Keeffe be hoping to play all seven rounds over the five days that will see him into the final.  The big hitting Douglas member is currently playing of +3.3, and he’ll be joined by his friend and Barton Shield teammate Karl Bornemann.  Kinsale have three representatives in the field, John Murphy has two wins in the bag this year and will be hoping to gain his first senior title.  Cathal Butler won the Munster Strokeplay Continue reading