O’Brien & Bornemann named on Irish Seniors Team

John O'Brien

John O’Brien

John O’Brien and Karl Bornemann have been named on the Irish team that will take part in the European Senior Mens Championship next month.  It’s a first call up for O’Brien while Bornemann returns to the team after playing on the winning team in 2017.

Earlier this week, O’Brien got a call from Irish Seniors Captain Michael Coote and it was a a dream come true.  “It was the best feeling ever” said the Castlemartyr man.  “I worked so hard this year with Cian McNanara and put in a  lot of work to get down to my lowest handicap of +1.1.  I’ve been playing a lot of golf and it’s starting to pay off.  I can’t wait to play in Denmark representing Ireland in the European championships, it’s a dream come true for me I hope to do my family and club proud.”  O’Brien recently set the course record in Blarney where he is also a member, and he was runner up at the Ulster Seniors last week.  His consistent performances had caught the eye of Michael Coote, with O’Brien getting the nod for the six man team.

Munster Seniors Amateur Open 2019Killarney Golf Club
Wednesday 18th June 2019

Karl Bornemann

Karl Bornemann is another golfer that has played consistently well this year, the Douglas golfer featured in several of the major championships as well as the seniors events.  His experience from the win in Sweden two years ago will be crucial, just himself and Jim Carvill remain from that winning team.  Peter Sheehan from Ballybunion is also a new member on the team, he finished one ahead of O’Brien in Ulster to win the title, and he also played well in Irish Close in Ballybunion this week.  Ireland have won the European crown on six occasions (2007-08, 2013-15, 2017) and last won the title two years ago in Sweden.   The European Senior Men’s Team Championship is hosted by the European Golf Association (EGA) and players must be 50 years or older.


European Senior Men’s Team Championship (Rungsted GC, Denmark; 3-7 September) — Ireland: 
Karl Bornemann (Douglas)
Jim Carvill (Banbridge)
Alan Condren (Greystones)
Steve Graham (East Sussex National)
John O’Brien (Castlemartyr)
Peter Sheehan (Ballybunion)

Captain: Michael Coote (Tralee)
Manager: Matt Donohue (Portumna)