Murphy retains Kerry Boy’s Championship at Ballybunion

John Murphy Kerry Boys 2016 TrophyIt’s been 30 years since anyone has managed to win back to back titles, and today John Murphy waited until the 19th hole to grasp back the trophy that he proudly won last year.

The Munster Boys Champion beat Monkstown’s Sean Desmond 4&3 in the morning semi-final.  The Monkstown man reached the same stage last year – and just like last year he will have to re-focus for tomorrow’s AIG Senior Cup when Monktown face Ballybunion.

In the final he faced Ballybunion’s Ronan Cross and a close match followed.  The pair were all-square through six holes but by the turn Murphy had a one hole advantage.  By the 12th Cross had turned the match and went one up, and he went two up on the 13th hole.  Murphy pulled one back on th 14th and he levelled the match on the 16th, setting it up for a thrilling finish.  Cross and Murphy halved the 17th and 18th, with some very impressive golf being played in tough conditions.  The match headed for the 19th Continue reading

Murphy, Desmond,Healy, O’Connell and Rumley all make Kerry Boys Matchplay Cut

Mark Healy Kinsale

Kinsale’s Mark Healy

Five Cork golfers have made the cut for the matchplay stage of the Kerry Boys Championship at Ballybunion.  Reigning champion John Murphy is through and will face Faithleggg’s Dara Phelan in tomorrow’s first round.  Murphy is joined by Kinsale team-mates Eric Rumley and Mark Healy. First round leader Sean Desmond also made the cut as did Bandon’s Brian O’Connell.  There’s a big North Cork factor at play in the Plate matchplay, there are five North cork golfers in action tomorrow morning.

Kerry Boys Championship – Round 1 Draw:

8am Sean Desmond (Monkstown) -v- Jonathon Haydon (Royal Dublin)
8.10am Philip Byrne Jnr (Ballybunion) -v- Iarla O’ Mahony (Ballybunion)
8.20am John Murphy (Kinsale) -v- Dara Phelan (Faithlegg)
8.30am Luke Walsh (Killarney) -v- Jason Davis (Carton House)
8.40am Mark Healy (Kinsale) -v- David O’ Reilly (Carton House)
8.50am Scott O’ Brien (Nenagh) -v- Brian O’ Connell (Bandon)
9am Conor Meade (East Clare) -v- Darren Mulcahy (Killarney)
9.10am Ronan Cross (Ballybunion) -v- Eric Rumley (Kinsale)
Continue reading

Desmond leads Kerry Boys R1 Qualifier

Results from Round 1 of the Kerry Boys Championship at Ballybunion Golf Club:

Kerry Boys Championship Qualifier Day 1

Tuesday 9th August 2016, White Tees, Cashen Course

Results Gross CSS 73 (Visitors 73)
1st Ronan Cross(5) Ballybunion GC 73
2nd Sean Desmond(-1) Monkstown Golf Club 73
3rd Conor Meade(3) East Clare Golf Club 75
4th Luke Walsh(5) Killarney Golf Club 76
5th MARK HEALY(1) Kinsale 77
6th Darren Mulcahy(7) Killarney Golf Club 77
7th Eoghan C O’Neill(5) Limerick 77
8th Killian Cotter(4) Doneraile Golf Club 77
9th Philip Byrne Jnr (8) Ballybunion GC 79
10th Jason Davis(5) Carton House Golf Club 79
11th JOHN MURPHY(-1) Kinsale 79
12th Dara Phelan(4) Faithlegg Golf Club 79
13th Eoin Magill(9) East Clare Golf Club 80
14th Finn Looney(6) East Clare Golf Club 80
15th Brian O’Connell(3) Bandon Golf Club 81
16th Eric Rumley(3) Kinsale 81
17th Ciaran Nolan Tighe(9) Tralee Golf Club 82
18th Edward Walsh(2) Mallow Golf Club 82
19th Ryan Kelliher(9) Killarney Golf Club 82 Continue reading

No Joy for Mallow in Fred Daly Munster Semi-Final

Fred Daly Trophy Munster Finals, Newcastle West Golf Club, Saturday 6th August 2016Mallow suffered a loss at the hands of a strong Limerick side in Newcastle West yesterday in the Munster semi-final of the Fred Daly Trophy.  The previous evening Mallow had lost a nail biting final in the Irish Junior Foursomes, but they pitched up in Newcastle West on Saturday morning with a strong side ready for battle.  Adam Boland, Liam Dowling, Greg Barrett and Edward Walsh all started for Mallow, with Daniel O’Sullivan taking the anchor spot having played in the Junior Foursomes.

Gallery: Fred Daly Trophy Munster semi-finals at Newcastle West

It was a tight match all the way through, Limerick had a narrow lead at the halfway point and similar to Friday’s play Mallow staged a comeback on the back nine.  Limerick however weren’t to be caught and the 16th and 17th proved crucial as Limerick picked up the three points on these holes.  Ed Walsh won Continue reading