Inaugural Muskerry Bruen Week a Huge Success

Sean Desmond Bruen Youths 2016

Bruen Youths winner Sean Desmond pictured with President Maura Minogue, Richard Cahill Sponsor, David Bruen and Captain Tom Purcell Pic: Mike English

Muskerry held a very successful open week last week, it was the first staging of the Jimmy Bruen Open week and marked the culmination of a number of initiatives to remember the greatest amateur golfer from Cork.

Maurice Leahy was one of the driving forces behind the Jimmy Bruen Open Week and he was delighted with the week’s activities.  “I am pleased to say the week was a roaring success” said Leahy, “We had packed time sheets, decent weather and huge input from the Bruen Family.  The week culminated in a barbecue on Saturday night, and specially commissioned medals were presented to the week’s winners by members of the Bruen Family.   The night began with a Jimmy Bruen life and times slideshow produced by Tim O’Brien.  This was attended by Mrs Nell Bruen, a sprightly 98 yrs young, and Bruen family.   Nell thanked everyone and Captain Tom Purcell presented Nell with one of the medals as a momento.  Then Barbara Bruen presented the club with a Gross score trophy won by her father Jimmy at the 1938 Irish Amateur Continue reading


Bruen Youths to launch Muskerry’s Bruen Open Week

Bruen Youths 2015 Sean Desmond

Sean Desmond (Monkstown) receiving the Bruen Youths Trophy from David Bruen, also included are David Taylor Captain Muskerry and Richard Cahill Sponsor.

The Bruen Youths will this year mark the start of Muskerry’s Bruen Open week which celebrates the 80th anniversary of Jimmy Bruen’s magnificent victory in the British Boys Championship.  It also marks the 70th anniversary of Bruen’s win at the British Amateur in 1946.  This year’s competition is a 36 hole strokeplay event and takes place on Monday 15th August.

The Bruen Youths started in 1986 as a boys (under 18) competition but later moved to youths level.  There have been many famous winners, Professionals David Higgins, Cian McNamara, Mick Collins, Mark Murphy and Aaron O’Callaghan have all won, and Ronan Twomey and Dave O’Donovan are among very few Muskerry that have won for the home club.  Kinsale’s Cathal Butler did a rare double in 2013 and 2014, and Monkstown’s Sean Desmond won Continue reading