Mahon’s Senior Circle win William Dwyer Trophy

William Dwyer Trophy 2019_Mahon Senior CircleThere was great excitement in Douglas on Monday as the final of the William Dwyer Inter-Society Trophy took place.  Midleton CBS Past Pupils Union were aiming to win the trophy for a third year in a row, but in their way were seven other teams who all had eyes on the trophy.  Douglas was in great condition for the annual event, two qualifying rounds took place in Mahon last month and the top eight qualifiers lined out for the final.  The format is scotch foursomes with each team fielding four pairs.  This was the 78th staging of the oldest inter-society event in the country.  The winners on the day were Senior Circle, in a very close contest that went to the final card to determine the winner.  Barry Ryan and Ray Duane were first out for Mahon’s Senior Circle and they came home with a respectable level par 72.  Sean Hosford and Denis O’Sullivan were second out and they shot a very impressive Continue reading

Midleton CBS win William Dwyer Trophy

William Dwyer 2017_5Midleton CBS Past Pupils GS won the 75th William Dwyer Trophy last week and this is the third time that the society have won the event. Previous winners in 2002 and 2006, the society are long term supporters of the event, and last week they ran away from the field with three great scores. Paul Cashman and Bernard Cashman led out the PPU team and their gross 80 was converted to a nett 71 when their nine shots were counted. Midleton’s third pairing of Derek Coll and Maurice Conway were also in the red after they shot a nett 71, thanks in part to a one over par front nine. Bob Cotter and John Moloney weren’t too far off the pace, set by their team mates, they signed for a level par 72 which beat CBS’s fourth card from Michael John Roche and Cormac Carroll. It was one of the best Continue reading

75th William Dwyer Trophy, Inter-Society Competition

Golf_William Dwyer Cup 2015_William Dwyer Cup_July2015Entries are now open for the 75th consecutive staging of William Dwyer inter-society competition.  Two qualifiers will take place in June with Cork Golf Club hosting the final in early July.  Any society can enter and the format is foursomes with teams of eight taking part.  Four teams will qualify from each day in Mahon.

Wednesday 7th June at Mahon Golf Club
Tuesday 13th June at Mahon Golf Club

Anyone interested in playing in the event should contact Finbarr O’Callaghan ( and full rules and details are available from Finbarr who has managed the competition for the last number of years.

The William Dwyer Trophy is a living history of commercial Cork.  The trophy boasts 73 separate silver plates detailing the winning team and players from every year since 1943.  Originally there were eight team members (4 foursomes pairs) but this was later increased to ten.  Around six years ago the number was again reduced to the original eight, reflecting the smaller number of golfers playing with societies.  In all there are around 700 names on the trophy.  Indeed the trophy is well over Continue reading

73rd William Dwyer Trophy

“The Lada Tour” Golf Society, winners of the 2009 William Dwyer Trophy

The 73rd staging of the William Dwyer Inter-Society Trophy gets underway next week.  Two qualifying days take place in Mahon Golf Club, with the first one taking place next week. 18 societies are listed this year, with the top four from each day qualifying for the final.  The format is foursomes with the best three cards counting from the four pairs.

The competition is Ireland’s oldest inter-society event and was started in 1942 by the Cork family famous for textiles.  Mahon’s Finbarr O’Callaghan has been running the competition for several years and ensures that’s Cork’s most famous and unique golf trophy continues it’s proud tradition. Fixtures:

Continue reading

William Dwyer Inter-Society Trophy 1943-2013

Winners since 2000:

Year Winner Venue
2013 ESB Wilton Douglas
2012 Mactoums Cork Golf Club
2011 ESB Wilton Monkstown
2010 wilton Traders GS Douglas
2009 Lada Tour Society Cork Golf Club
2008 DePuy Harbour Point
2006 Midleton CBS PPU Douglas
2005 Bowen Group Cork Golf Club
2004 MILLSTREET G.S. East Cork
2003 ESB MARINA Monkstown
2002 MIDLETON  C.B.S Mahon
2001 GLAXO SMITHKLINE Cork Golf Club
2000 SIFCO Douglas

Full Listing: Continue reading