Castletroy Scratch Cup

After four week’s of competitive golf, Cork’s Category one golfers have a week off next week but there are plenty of competitions in the calendar.  The famous Castletroy Scratch Cup takes place on Saturday 21st May and it’s set to be a bumper field.

2016-Pic-Castletroy Golf Club 28-4-2016

Liz Horgan, Bank of Ireland, Fergal Costelloe, Captain of Castletroy Golf Club and Brian Punch, President of Castletroy Golf Club officially launching the Bank of Ireland Castletroy Senior Scratch Cup-2016 at Castletroy Golf Club, Limerick Picture by Dave Gaynor

First competed for in 1948, the Castletroy trophy is one of the oldest and most prestigious scratch cups in the country and attracts the cream of Munster and Ireland’s amateur golf each year.   As a Munster Senior Golf “Order of Merit” tournament, results in the Castletroy Senior Scratch Cup are included in the selection criteria for the Munster team in the Senior Golf Interprovincial Series.

Last year’s winner was, Munster and Ireland stalwart, Pat Murray, Limerick GC, with a score of 145 strokes for 36 holes.  Former winners include Niall Gorey, Eddie McCormack, Mark Shanahan and Alan Thomas, not to mention the illustrious names of JB Carr, Liam Higgins, Vincent Nevin and Des Smyth.  Over the years, local golfers such as Eamon Haugh, John Kavanagh, Michael O’Kelly and Peter Sheehan have also lifted this prestigious trophy.

Entries are open, anyone interested in playing should contact Castletroy Golf Club at (061) 335 753 or  The handicap limit is 4 and confined to the lowest 72 entrants.  Gunshot starts at 9am and 2.30pm on the day.   Closing date for entries is Thursday, 19th May @ 3pm