Super 69 for McCarthy in Lahinch, South of Ireland Day 1 Report

Paul McCarthy (Mallow Golf Club)

Paul McCarthy (Mallow Golf Club)

Mallow’s Paul McCarthy took advantage of an early start this morning to set the tone for the opening round of the South of Ireland Championship.  McCarthy raced into the lead with a near flawless 69 and finished in second place at the end of play on the opening day.  The 2015 Munster Youths champion went out in 34 thanks to birdies on the 2nd and 8th.  He had another two birdies on the way back but dropped a shot on the index one 15th hole.  He signed for a 69 leaving him one shot off the lead held by Jake Whelan from Newlands.

McCarthy was naturally very happy with the round, especially because it was an all-round performance: “It was an all round solid day really, but if I had to pick something it was my putting which was very good from start to finish.”  McCarthy goes into day two as one of only three Cork golfers that are in a strong position to make the cut.

Cork’s John Hickey is  inside the top 30 after a round of 74, as is Peter O’Keeffe who was one of the later starters.  There’s big gap the the next Cork players; Mark Ford, David O’Donovan, Cathal Butler and Ian Spillane all shot 77, but crucially they’re all one shot outside the cut mark.  The top 64 golfers after tomorrows second strokeplay round qualify for the matchplay which starts on Friday morning.  Gary Ward, James Sugrue and Cillian Moloney will all need a better return tomorrow if they are to make the cut for Friday.

South of Ireland Championship, Sponsored by Pierse Motors – Live Scoring

South of Ireland Amateur Open Championship at Lahinch Golf Club 
Sponsored by Pierse Motors Volkswagen

Round 1  CSS =75

68 Jake Whelan (Newlands)
69 Paul McCarthy (Mallow)
70 Paul McBride (Island), Alex Gleeson (Castle)
71 Aaron Grant (Dundalk), Conor Purcell (Portmarnock), John Ross Galbraith (Whitehead), Daniel Holland (Castle)
72 Devin Morley (Oughterard), Keith Egan (Carton House), Stephen Watts (Cairndhu), Sean Flanagan (Co. Sligo), Robert Cannon (Balbriggan), Cole Madey (USA)
73 Evan Farrell (Ardee), Greg Mungovan (Headfort), Jamie Sutherland (Galgorm Castle), Robin Dawson (Tramore), Rowan Lester (Hermitage), Pat Murray (Limerick), Gary Collins (Rosslare), David Brady (Co. Sligo), Mark Mullen (Rosslare)
74 Daniel Brennan (Shannon), Dean McMahon (Castletroy), Rob Brazill (Naas), Luke Donnelly (Kilkenny), John Hickey (Cork), Peter O’ Keeffe (Douglas), Tiarnan McLarnon (Massereene), Liam Grehan (Mullingar), Marc Nolan (Delgany), Eanna Griffin (Waterford), Jordan Hood (Galgorm Castle), Michael Ryan (New Ross)
75 Stuart Bleakley (Shandon Park), Colm Campbell Jnr (Warrenpoint), William Small (Tandragee), Eugene Smith (Ardee), Paul Carey (Nenagh), Colin Fairweather (Knock), Gavin Fitzmaurice (Balcarrick), Shaun Carter (The Royal Dublin), Mark Morrissey (Mount Wolseley), Gerard Dunne (Co. Louth), Arthur Pierse (Tipperary), Paul O’Hara (Kilkenny), Des Morgan (New Forest), Declan Reidy (Co. Sligo), James Gerard Fox (Portmarnock), Fergal O’Sullivan (Tralee)
76 Jack McDonnell (Forrest Little.), Justin Kehoe (Limerick), Peter Sheehan (Ballybunion), Geoff Lenehan (Portmarnock), Paul O’Hanlon (Carton House), Cathal Nolan (Galway), Ronan Mullarney (Galway), Michael O’Kelly (Limerick), Ed Hickey (Shannon), Stephen Coulter (Warrenpoint), Gavin Smyth (Clonmel), Ben Best (Rathmore), Marc Norton (Belvoir Park)
77 Mark Ford (Cork), Alec Myles (Newlands), Eoin O’Connor (Ballybunion), Michael Reddan (Limerick), Dylan Brophy (Castleknock), Dave O’Donovan (Muskerry), Ian Spillane (Mallow), Keith Murphy (Charlesland), Andrew McCormack (Castletroy), Ed Stack (Ballybunion), Cathal Butler (Kinsale), Ted Collins (Dun Laoghaire), Mark MacGrath (Limerick), David Foy (Laytown & Bettystown)
78 Eamonn Haugh (Castletroy), Ally Purdy (Ballyclare), Sean Poucher (Limerick), Eoin Glynn (Lahinch), Eoin Leonard (Wentworth), Shane McGlynn (Portmarnock), Michael Reid (Galgorm Castle), Gareth Lappin (Belvoir Park), Shane Hogan (Nenagh), Gavin Young (Nenagh), Ryan Berkeley (Dun Laoghaire)
79 Rory Williamson (Holywood), Sean Walsh (Carton House), Paul Murphy (Rosslare), Eddie Power (Kilkenny), Thomas Mulligan (Co. Louth), Darragh Coghlan (Portmarnock), John Greene (Portmarnock), Jack Pierse (Portmarnock), Cian Geraghty (Laytown & Bettystown), Nils Conway (Grange), Owen O’Brien (Limerick), Clayton Madey (USA), Brian Shally (Dromoland)
80 Colin Woodroofe (Blainroe), Stefan Greenberg (Tandragee), Richard Knightly (The Royal Dublin), Ross Steedman (Courtown), Kyle McCarron (North West), Jack Ryan (Castletroy), Thomas Neenan (Lahinch), Niall O’Reilly (Clonmel), Peter Kane (Ashbourne), Darragh Crawford (Bundoran), Conor Byrne (USA), Thomas O’Connor (Athlone)
81 Peter Redmond (Beech Park), Declan McInerney (Lahinch), Michael Buggy (Castlecomer), Graham Nugent (Kilkenny), Tony O’Leary (Rosslare), Joe Lyons (Galway), Stephen Walsh (Portmarnock), Marc Boucher (Carton House)
82 John Conroy (Portmarnock), Tony Cleary (Woodstock), Jamie Fletcher (Warrenpoint), Jason O’Donnell (Shannon), Brian Doran (Baltinglass), Barry Daly (Edmondstown), Gary Ward (Kinsale), Sam Sweeney (USA), Robbie Pierse (Grange), James Sugrue (Mallow)
83 David Reddan (Nenagh), Alan Thomas (Dungarvan), Jack Walsh (Castle), Brett Macias (Palmerstown Stud), Colm Crowley (Woodbrook)
84 Gary McGrane (The Royal Dublin), Cillian Moloney (Fota Island)
85 Ruairi O’Connor (Co. Sligo), Anthony Sweeney (Woodstock), Robert Farrell (New Ross), Peter McKeever (Castle)
86 Conor Ryan (Dun Laoghaire), Tom Griffin (Crews Hill)
87 John Reynolds (Dungarvan), Aaron Moore (Adare Manor)
88 Sean Burns (Dromoland)
NR Brian Gilligan (Woodstock), Sean Ryan (The Royal Dublin)