No Joy for Mallow or Blarney as Castletroy win Irish Junior Foursomes

Irish Junior Foursomes Munster Final, Newcastlewest Golf Club, Friday 5th August 2016There was no joy for Mallow or Blarney today as both lost out to Castletroy in the Irish Junior Foursomes.  Blarney took Castletroy all the way to the 18th green before losing out to the Limerick side.  Blarney were five down before the turn and narrowed the deficit to 2 holes on the 11th.  Castletroy stretched their lead again through the back nine but Blarney weren’t finished and took the match all they way to the 18th green.  Castletroy just needed a half and Blarney’s delicate chip for birdie got close but didn’t go in meaning Castletroy went through.

Gallery: Blarney v Castletroy, Irish Junior Foursomes Munster Semi-Final

Gallery: Mallow v Cahir Park, Irish Junior Foursomes Munster Semi-Final

Mallow needed an additional hole to get over Cahir Park in their semi-final, and the final went to the 19th as well as Mallow made a great comeback.  Mallow were giving away 11 shots between the two pairings and Castletroy took full advantage.  They kept pace with Mallow in gross terms and built a lead with their shots.  Castletroy were four up with five cumulative holes to play, and it was then that Mallow’s experience came into play.  Ronan Feerick and Jack Dillon held their one hole lead on the 18th despite giving away a shot on the final hole.  In the back match Roy Whelan and Daniel O’Sullivan won 16, 17 and crucially 18 to bring their match back to one down, and send them onto the 19th hole.

Both sides were less than 100 yards out on the par five 1st hole when Castletroy’s Dara Neville nailed his approach to less than four feet.  Mallow made par but Niall O’Brien birdied for Castletroy and gave the Limerick side the title.

Gallery: Castletroy v Mallow, Irish Junior Foursomes Final

Irish Junior Foursomes Munster Finals at Newcastle West Golf Club
Semi-Final: Castletroy beat Blarney, 1 hole
Michael Kitt & Adam Myers beat Jonathan Scannell & Darragh Murphy 4 holes.  Dara Neville & Niall O’Brien lost to Darren Kelliher and Daniel Murphy, 3 holes.

Semi-Final: Mallow beat Cahir Park, 19th hole

Jack Dilllon & Ronan Feerick lost to Ian Halpin & Oliver Pearson, 1 hole.  Roy Whelan and Daniel O’Sullivan bt Jake Lindy & Ben Halpin 19th hole.
Munster Final: Castletroy beat Mallow 19th Hole 
Michael Kitt & Adam Myers lost to Jack Dilllon & Ronan Feerick, 1 hole.  Dara Neville & Niall O’Brien beat Roy Whelan and Daniel O’Sullivan, 19th hole.
Smartphones Direct