Mahon face Lahinch in Fred Daly Plate Final

Munster Golf LogoMahon will head to Ballyneety Golf Club tomorrow to take on Lahinch in the final of the the Fred Daly Plate.  The Munster competition was launched last year and all first round losers from the Fred Daly Trophy are entered.

Mahon beat Bandon in the first round and went on to beat Monkstown in the second round.  After that the saw off Douglas before beating West Waterford in the semi-final.  Tomorrow’s final starts at 11.30am.

Mahon Fred Daly Plate Panel:
James Daly
Donagh Gribbon
Eoghan O’Shea
Sean Foley
Cathal Browne
Conor Twomey
Colm Kennedy
Team Manager: Ian Bermingham

Douglas win Fred Daly Plate Final

Fred Daly Plate 1Douglas proved that perseverance pays when they won the Fred Daly Plate final in Ballyneety today.  They overcame Monkstown, Bandon and Killarney on their way to a final meeting with Lahinch.  Douglas fielded a strong side with three players from their AIG Junior Cup team.  Barry O’Sullivan Geaney and Brian Barry put points on the board for Douglas when they both wrapped up their matches on the 16th green.  Daniel O’Sullivan and Darren Hourihan were both all square in their matches when John Boylan won his match (also on the 16th) to secure the win for the Cork side.

Fred Daly Plate 2

Munster Fred Daly Plate Final, Ballyneety Golf Club
Douglas 4, Lahinch 1.
Brian Barry beat Darragh Conneely 3&2.
Barry O’Sullivan Geaney beat Barry Dunworth 3&2.
Daniel O’Sullivan halved with Anthony Lacey.
John D Boylan  beat Cathal Hegarty 3&2.
Darren Hourihan halved with Jonathan Keane.