Gallery: Munster Golf Awards 2019

Pictures from the awards evening in Mallow:

Cork win Munster Club of the Year Award

munster-golf-adm_awards_112Cork Golf Club were recently awarded the Munster Club of the Year award from Munster Golf.  The club that was first founded in 1888 has been central to Cork and Munster golf for over 125 years and while the tradition creates a legacy, the club has continually evolved and developed to remain at the forefront of the sport.  The Club moved to its present site in 1897, and in 1924 the world famous designer Dr. Alister MacKenzie redesigned the course.  In 2010 – 2012 major alterations were carried out under Martin Hawtree to restore the MacKenzie design.  Over the years the Club has hosted many major Amateur and Professional Championships over the years.  Graeme McDowell won the Irish Youths in 1999. Shane Lowry won the Irish Close in 2007.  The Club has won 14 national pennants and in 2016 won Continue reading