Douglas to host Irish Women’s Open Strokeplay

Douglas will be a busy spot this weekend as the club hosts the Irish Women’s Open Strokeplay, the showpiece 72 hole ILGU Championship.

The Irish challenge looks likely to be led by Irish Champion Paula Grant (Lisburn), the in-form Chloe Ryan (Castletroy) and Irish Girls Open Strokeplay Champion Olivia Mehaffey (RCD Ladies) who were also in the final shake-up for selection on the GB&I team in early May.  Karen O’Neill leads the home challenge, after having a good run of results in the Senior Cup recently.  Other locals to watch include Jean O’Driscoll, Ailish Thompson, Sarah O’Brien, Rachel Thompson and Grace McGrath.

England’s Meghan MacLaren will make the overseas trip to defend her hotly contested Irish Women’s Open Amateur Strokeplay title at Douglas Golf Club, Cork, 24-25 May.  Unlucky to miss out on Curtis Cup selection earlier this month, MacLaren in joined by a host of English compatriots in the international field. Alexandra Peters, Inci Mehmet, Samantha Fuller and Bethan Popel to name but a few top English amateurs are joined by Welsh International sisters Gemma and Katie and Gemma Bradbury in this year’s line up.

With one third of the strong quality field playing off scratch or lower, the Irish party will face stiff competition if they are to wrestle the trophy from overseas hands. Competitors will play 36 holes stroke play on Saturday morning and afternoon with the top 40 making the cut for the final 18 holes on Sunday as the leaders tee off at the end of the field. With the Tournament qualifying as a Women’s World Amateur Golf Ranking (WWAGR) event, Ireland will also be looking to reclaim the Nations Cup after narrowly losing out to England last year.

With complimentary entry for spectators, visitors to Douglas are most welcome.

ClubApp are providing Live scronig for the event.  Click the following link (from your mobile device) to view:

1st & 10th  TEE
07:35 13:05 Victoria Craig (Royal Belfast) Mairead Martin (Killarney) Meadhbh Doyle (Portarlington)
07:45 13:15 Chelsea Masters (ENG) Amy Farrell (Moate) Emma O’Driscoll (Ballybunion)
07:55 13:25 Lucy Goddard (ENG) Sarah Cunningham (Ennis) Karen O’Neill (Douglas)
08:05 13:35 Meghan MacLaren (ENG) Chloe Ryan (Castletroy) Samantha Fuller (ENG)
08:15 13:45 Alexandra Peters (ENG) Olivia Mehaffey (RCD Ladies) Katie Bradbury (WAL)
08:25 13:55 Bethan Popel (ENG) Paula Grant (Lisburn) Gemma Bradbury (WAL)
08:35 14:05 Inci Mehmet (ENG) Mary Doyle (The Heath) Niamh McSherry (Lurgan)
08:45 14:15 Gemma Clews (ENG) Niamh Ward (Lurgan) Jean O’Driscoll (Muskerry)

10th & 1st  TEE
07:30 13:00 Aoife Ni Thuama (Monkstown) Lillian Harrington (East Cork)
07:40 13:10 Fiona McCann (ENG) Ailish Thompson (Cork)
07:50 13:20 Rachel Thompson (Cork) Sarah O’Brien (East Cork) Michelle Tierney (Waterford Castle)
08:00 13:30 Sharna Louise Dutrieux (ENG) Kelsey Coey (Clandeboye) Gemma McCarthy (Clonmel)
08:10 13:40 Mary Scriven (Bandon) Paula Walsh (Doneraile) Grace McGrath (East Cork)
08:20 13:50 Aoife Lowry (Tipperary) Darcey Carr (Milltown) Sarah Helly (Enniscrone)
08:30 14:00 Jennifer Hickey (Doneraile) Claire Keating (Killarney) Jenny Maguire (Foxrock)
08:40 14:10 Lauren Horsford (ENG) Chloe Weir (Shandon Park) Karen Delaney (Carlow)
08:50 14:20 Aedin Murphy (Carlow) Carla Reynolds (Seapoint) Lucy Simpson (Massereene)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s