Hallissey wins Douglas Senior Scratch Cup

Daniel Hallissey (Muskerry), winner of the Douglas Senior Scratch Cup, sponsored by Kieran Canty Financial Services. Picture: Niall O'Shea

Daniel Hallissey (Muskerry), winner of the Douglas Senior Scratch Cup, sponsored by Kieran Canty Financial Services.
Picture: Niall O’Shea

Muskerry’s Daniel Hallissey scooped the Douglas Senior Scratch Cup on Saturday, thanks to an impressive 69 in his second round.  Hallissey was a member of the very Muskerry’s double All Ireland winning team in 2007 when he won Junior Cup and Jimmy Bruen Shield titles.  He added to that last year he was part of the winning Muskerry Barton Shield team in Carton house, and he now adds his name to the prestigious Douglas Senior Scratch Cup.  After shooting a morning 77, Hallissey added to that with a bogey on the 4th to leave him on +6 after 22 holes.  He bounced back however, birdies on 9, 12, 15 and 18 saw him storm back up the leaderboard.

>>Douglas Senior Scratch Cup Gallery<<

Kanturk’s Pat Fitzpatrick and Mallow’s Paul McCarthy lead after the first round both carded three under par 69’s to hold a four shot lead over the field.  Ballybunion’s Dave O’Driscoll led a number of players on 73, and with tough scoring conditions, the remainder of field was spread out.  The afternoon saw a stiff breeze sweep through the course and Hallissey was only player to break par.  There was a three way tie on the leaderboard, the Muskerry man took the top prize with a better final 18.  Dave O’Driscoll was second (73,73) and Pat Fitzpatrick took third place (69,77).  The top three had two shots to spare over the field, with Gary O’Flaherty, Keith Crowley, Adam McSweeeny, Paul McCarthy and Ronan Twomey all finishing on 148.  The 36 hole event attracted a full timesheet and was sponsored by Kieran Canty Financial Services.

Saturday 23rd May 2015
Douglas Golf Club Senior Scratch Cup
Sponsored by Kieran Canty Financial Services

Winner:                                Daniel Hallissey                                 146
Second:                                                David O’Driscoll                                 146
Third:                                    Pat Fitzpatrick                                    146
Fourth:                                 Garry O’Flaherty                              148
Fifth:                                     Keith Crowley                                    148
Best Net:                             Adam McSweeney                          140
Best 2nd Net:                      Jack McHenry                                    142
Best Gross 1st Round:     Paul McCarthy                                   69
Best Gross 2ndRound:     Cormac Finn                                       73
Best Douglas:                     Adam McSweeney                          140

CSS Morning 72
CSS Afternoon 72

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s