Cork Golfers in action in Irish Ladies Close at Lahinch

ILGU AIG Senior Cup Munster Final, Douglas Golf Club, Sunday 8th May 2015

Rachel Thompson

Play got underway early this morning at Lahinch at the Irish Ladies Close Championship.  there are eight Cork golfers in action in the field of just over 60 golfers.  Cork’s Rachel Thompson and Paula Walsh (Doneraile) are representing the Senior Cup winners from last weekend and Sara Byrne is representing semi-finalists Douglas.  Killarney duo Mariead Martin (Kanturk) and Valerie Clancy (Mitchelstown) are also in action.

After today’s two rounds, the top 32 golfers will advance to the matchplay stage.  Lahinch Golf Course is one of Ireland’s top links courses and has hosted a number of high-level championship events in the past. The Irish Ladies’ Close Championship was held there in 2007 when Carlow’s Karen Delaney was crowned champion. Lahinch is host to the annual Ladies Lahinch Scratch Cup and Men’s South of Ireland Championship.  Competitors play 36 holes stroke play on the first day with 32 players qualifying for the Championship match play.  First rounds losers in the Championship match play will play in the Plate match play.


Rd 1  Rd 2 Player (Club)
07:00 12:30 Olivia Mehaffey (RCDL)  Maria Dunne (Skerries)  Chloe Ryan (Castletroy)
07:10 12:40 Niamh McSherry (Lurgan)  Mary Dowling (New Ross)  Mairead Martin (Killarney)
07:20 12:50 Sinead Sexton (Lahinch)  Louise Coffey (Malone)  Aedin Murphy (Carlow)
07:30 13:00 Mary Doyle (The Heath)  Valerie Clancy (Killarney)  Rachel Taylor (Laytown & Bettystown)
07:40 13:10 Gillian O’Leary (The Island)  Sarah Cunningham (Ennis)  Orla Dunphy (Kilkenny)
07:50 13:20 Darcey Carr (Milltown)  Shannon Burke (Ballinrobe)  Rachel Thompson (Cork)
08:00 13:30 Anne McCormack (Naas)  Carla Reynolds (Seapoint)  Sarah Crowe (Naas)
08:10 13:40 Catriona Griffin (Killarney)  Aoife Lowry (Tipperary)  Clodagh Jones (Roscrea)
08:20 13:50 Karen Delaney (Carlow)  Olivia Lucas (Lahinch)  Paula Walsh (Doneraile)
08:30 14:00 Lauren Walsh (Castlewarden)  Tara Whelan (East Clare)  Jenny Hennessy (Lahinch)
08:40 14:10 Aine Donegan (Woodstock)  Maeve Rooney (Co. Sligo)  Linda Toomey (Lahinch)
08:50 14:20 Shirley Real (Castletroy)  Claire McGonagle (Portsalon)  Orla Barry (Galway)
09:00 14:30 Elisa Corcoran (Grange)  Lisa O’Shea (Shannon)  Noreen Maloney (Oughterard)
09:10 14:40 Sara Byrne (Douglas)  Nicole McGavisk (Donabate)  Anna Foster (Elm Park)
09:20 14:50 Siobhan O’Herlihy (Muskerry)  Valerie Shannon (Lahinch)  Claire Keating (Killarney)
09:30 15:00 Ellen O’Gorman (Milltown)  Annie Harpur (Naas)  Deborah McCooke (Galgorm Castle)
09:40 15:10 Carmel Kearney (Mallow)  Margaret Campion (Killarney)  Michelle Pyke (Shannon)
09:50 15:20 Beth Coulter (Kirkistown Castle)  Jan Browne (Kilkenny)  Shannon Hegarty (Ennis)
10:00 15:30 Gemma Butler (Birr)  Mary Geaney (Killarney)  Eileen Coleman (Doneraile)
10:10 15:40 Georgia Carr (Milltown)  Niamh O’Dwyer (Lahinch)  Ciara Brennan (Belvoir Park)
10:20 15:50 Honoria Fogarty (Castlecomer)  Mary Bergin (Monkstown)