Cork interest continues in Lahinch, Ladies Irish Close

Sara Byrne

Sara Byrne

Two Cork teenagers will face off in the final 16 of the ILGU Close Championship at Lahinch tomorrow.  Sara Byrne from Douglas will play Mitchelstown’s Valerie Clancy in the second match tomorrow morning.  Clancy had a 2&1 win over Lisa O’Shea while Byrne won on the 16th against Nicola Coffey.

Cork’s Rachel Thompson also won on the 16th, closing out her match against Maeve Rooney.  Mairead Martin and Paula Walsh both have daunting matches ahead of them in the morning.  Walsh will take on the Lahinch star Sinead Sexton who finished best qualifier on -4 after 36 holes, Sexton had an 8&7 win today to make it to the second round with ease.  Mairead Martin will play Olive Mehaffey, the current Irish Open Champion.  Martin beat Carlow’s Karen Delaney after their mathc was finally settled on the 19th,while Mehaffey won 8&7 against Linda Toomey.

ILGU Irish Close Round of 16 Draw

Gillian O’Leary lost out this morning but she has a plate match tomorrow against Aedin Murphy.  Two rounds will be played tomorrow in both the Championship and the Plate, that will leave four competitors in each competition which will conclude on Sunday.

ILGU Irish Close Plate Draw

Irish Women’s Close – Championship Match Play – 14/05/16
08:30 Sinead Sexton (Lahinch) V Paula Walsh (Doneraile)
08:39 Valerie Clancy (Killarney) V Sara Byrne (Douglas)
08:48 Louise Coffey (Malone) V Mary Doyle (The Heath)
08:57 Sarah Cunningham (Ennis) V Georgia Carr (Milltown)
09:06 Chloe Ryan (Castletroy) V Shannon Burke (Ballinrobe)
09:15Aoife Lowry (Tipperary) V Rachel Thompson (Cork)
09:24 Maria Dunne (Skerries) V Lauren Walsh (Castlewarden)
09:33 Olivia Mehaffey (RCDL) V Mairead Martin (Killarney)
Irish Women’s Close – Plate Match Play – 14/05/16
09:42 Valerie Shannon (Lahinch) V Anne McCormack (Naas)
09:51 Lisa O’Shea (Shannon) (W/O)
10:00 Gillian O’Leary (The Island) V Aedin Murphy (Carlow)
10:09 Ellen O’Gorman (Milltown) (W/O)
10:18 Olivia Lucas (Lahinch) V Catriona Griffin (Killarney)
10:27 Orla Dunphy (Kilkenny) V Maeve Rooney (Co. Sligo)
10:36 Clodagh Jones (Roscrea) V Elisa Corcoran (Grange)
10:45 Linda Toomey (Lahinch) V Karen Delaney (Carlow)

– See more at: