Castletroy set date for Scratch Cup

Castletroy GC Scratch Cup ILIM 30-04-19 (2)_12372618 (002)Castletroy Golf Club has announced details of this year’s Senior Scratch Cup, which is, once again kindly and generously sponsored by Bank of Ireland.  The competition takes place on Saturday, May 25th.    First competed for in 1948, the Castletroy trophy is one of the oldest and most prestigious scratch cups in the country and attracts the cream of Munster golf and some of Ireland’s best amateur golfers each year.  As a Munster Golf OOM tournament, results in the Castletroy Senior Scratch Cup are included in the selection criteria for the Munster Interprovincial team.   The course, currently ranked in the top 100 in Ireland and measuring almost 7,000 yards off the back tees, consistently offers a stiff challenge to any player on the senior scratch cup circuit.  Last year’s edition was no different with a very impressive fourteen plus handicapped golfers and ten scratch golfers in the field.

Last year’s winner was, Jason Tobin of the home club with rounds of 75 and 69 strokes.  Former winners include James Sugrue, Gary O’Flaherty, Niall Gorey, Eddie McCormack, Mark Shanahan and Alan Thomas, not to mention the illustrious names of JB Carr, Liam Higgins, Vincent Nevin and Des Smyth.  Over the years, other local golfers such as Eamon Haugh, John Kavanagh, Michael O’Kelly and Peter Sheehan have also lifted this prestigious trophy.

Entries are invited to Castletroy Golf Club at (061) 335 753 or The handicap limit is 4 and confined to the lowest 72 entrants.  Gunshot starts at 9am and 2.30pm on the day. The entry fee of €30 includes lunch. Closing date for entries is 5pm on Thursday, 23rd May.