Deasy selected for McGregor Trophy

Munster Boys Under 16 Amateur Open 2018
Newcastlewest Golf Club
Thursday 21st August 2018Lee Valley’s Mel Deasy has been selected to represent the GUI at the McGregor Trophy later this month.  Deasy, who is a member of the Irish Boys U16 panel, is one of six players selected to represent the GUI.  Deasy had a great start to the season, winning the West of Ireland qualifier, and making the cut in the event.  He’ll be looking forward to the next few weeks with several boys competitions taking place, in addition to the McGregor.  The McGregor Trophy, which is contested for the English U16 Stroke Play Championship, is a 72-hole tournament. After two rounds, the top 40 and ties will progress to play the final 36 holes. Among the previous winners is England’s Justin Rose (1995).

GUI Squad — McGregor Trophy (16-18 July, Radcliffe-on-Trent): Liam Abom (Edmondstown), Mel Deasy (Lee Valley), Thomas Higgins (Roscommon), Joshua Hill (Galgorm Castle), Alex King (Faithlegg), Ewan McArthur (Massereene).