Desmond & O’Mahony claim first Munster Caps, Senior Interprovincial team named

Sean Desmond

Sean Desmond (Monkstown) teeing off the 9th in Lahinch during the third round of the South of Ireland Championship. Pic: Niall O’Shea

Sean Desmond and Greg O’Mahony are set to earn their first Munster senior caps having been named in the Munster Interprovincial team today.  The Cork duo are among three new faces in the Munster team that also see’s Pat Murray return after missing out last year.  Captain Michael Coote and Manager George Mellerick have assembled a strong team as Munster hope to retain the title.  Desmond was a strong contender for a spot after winning the South Of Ireland earlier this month, and although be missed out on an automatic spot he was certainly to the forefront of the selectors minds.  Greg O’Mahony also picks up his first cap on the back of solid championship performances.  He reached the last 32 in the South and the last 16 in the Irish Close in Ballybunion earlier this week.  Pat Murray makes a welcome return to the team, the Tipperary native has a long and distinguished record and his matchplay experience will balance the young look to the team.

Peter O’Keeffe and Eanna Griffin were automatic picks having finished in the top three in the Provincial Order of Merit, both have shown solid form in recent weeks and will be fancied to play well in the interpros.  Munster are the holders, they won the 2018 title after a dramatic win on the last day against Leinster in Athlone.  Geoff Lenehan holed the winning putt that day – for the third time – and theWaterville member will be hoping to contribute in a similar fashion in Tullamore.  Cathal Butler has played very well for most of the summer, and he has retained his place as has Andrew McCormack.

The 2019 team features four changes from the winning 2018 team.  James Sugrue is unavailable due to his inclusion on the Walker Cup squad while Gary O’Flaherty is unavailable with work commitments.  John Hickey turned professional last December and John Murphy is again unavailable due to college commitments.

The Men’s Interprovincial Championship takes place in  Tullamore Golf Club from the 28th-30th August.

Senior Team 2019 
Cathal Butler (Kinsale)
Sean Desmond (Monkstown)
Eanna Griffin (Waterford)
Geoff Lenehan (Portmarnock)
Pat Murray (Clontarf)
Andrew Mc Cormack (Castletroy)
Peter O’Keeffe (Douglas)
Greg O’Mahony (Fota Island)
Non travelling reserve – David Reddan Jnr.
Captain – Michael Coote
Manager – George Mellerick