Deasy wins Cobh Senior Scratch Cup

Mel Deasy

Mel Deasy

Lee Valley’s Mel Deasy signed off on another strong season with a win, the Ballincollig teenager won his first senior scratch cup in Cobh last weekend.  It was a solid round from the one handicapper.  Deasy turned on level par after a single birdie and bogey.  He bogied the signature par three 10th hole but went on a run of three birdies from the 11th.  That got him to two under, and after one more bogey on the 15th he finished with a one under par 71.  That tied him with fellow Lee Valley member Ian Bohane but Deasy had the better back nine and became the first winner of the newly named Morgan O’Donovan Senior Scratch Cup.  Ian Bermingham (Douglas) finished in third place with a level par 72 and Stephen O’Brien was fourth.  Conor McDowell was the best Cobh finisher, he took fifth place with a 74.  David Howard, and Dean O’Riordan also finished with 74.

It was a busy weekend in Cobh with three other scratch cups taking place.  Shane Geasley won the Junior Scratch Cup, now named after Paul McGee Snr.  Geasley signed for a 74, beating Fota Island’s John Howard on the countback.  Stuart Meredith was third with a 77.  The Intermediate Scratch Cup was won by Owen O’Connell and the Minor Scratch Cup was won by Fergal Murray.

Morgan O’Donovan Senior Scratch Cup

Winner Mel Deasy (1) Lee Valley – 71 Gross c/b
R/Up Ian Bohane (-2) Lee Valley – 71 Gross
CSS 73 

Paul McGee Snr Junior Scratch Cup
Winner Shane Geasley (6) – 74 Gross c/b
R/Up John Howard (5) Fota – 74 Gross
1st Nett. Adrian Lynch (12) – 68 Nett
2nd Nett Stuart Meredith (6) – 71 Nett
CSS 74

Intermediate Cup
Winner. Owen O’ Connell (10) – 81 gross
1st Nett. Niall Tyrell (15) – 70 Nett c/b
2nd. Nett John Clarke (12) – 70 Nett
CSS 72

Minor Cup

1st. Fergal Murray (22) – 42pts
2nd. EoinCostello (23) – 40pts
3rd. Robert Elliot (18) Lee Valley – 39pts c/b

CSS 72