Ryan and O’Sullivan win in Castlemartyr

David Ryan (East Cork) and Shane O’Sullivan (Callaway Golf) receiving the Munster PGA Fourball Trophy from Ted Higgins at the first Winter Series event at Castlemartyr Golf Links.

The Munster PGA made a welcome return to the course this week with their first Winter Series event in two years.  Castlemartyr Golf Links was the venue for the first event and the format was a fourball with the Munster PGA Fourball Cup on offer for the winners.  David Ryan from East Cork and Shane O’Sullivan from Callaway Golf led the way with a really impressive 63.  The pair set off on an early charge that saw them six under par after eight holes.  Ryan dropped birdies at the 2nd, 5th, 6th and 8th, while O’ Sullivan added two more on the 2nd and 7th holes.  The back nine was a bit quieter with six pars and just three birdies, but it meant that they finished on nine under par and were the clear winners with five shots to spare over the field.

Tied for second were Donal McSweeney (Lahinch) and Gavin Young (Ballyneety), they had a very tidy 4 birdies and 14 pars round of 68 with the birdies coming on 6,9,13 and 17.  Also in second place were Padraig Dooley (Drive Golf Performance) and John Casey (Tralee) who had a mixed round for their 68.  Padraig birdied the first 5 holes with further birdies on 11 and 15, John birdied the 18th but the birdies were cancelled by a double bogey on 6 and bogeys on 9 and 13.

There was a three way tie for fourth place on three under par; Andy MacMahon (The Golf Course at Adare Manor) & Mark Beckett (The Golf Course at Adare Manor), Shane Irwin (Monkstown) & Paul O’Neill (Shannon), and Darragh Lynch (The Golf Course at Adare Manor) & Dave Carroll (Ballyneety).

1st  David Ryan (East Cork) – Shane O’Sullivan (Callaway Golf)  63

2nd Donal McSweeney (Lahinch) – Gavin Young (Ballyneety) 68

Padraig Dooley (Drive Golf Performance) – John Casey (Tralee) 68

4th Andy MacMahon (The Golf Course at Adare Manor)- Mark Beckett (The Golf Course at Adare Manor) 69

Shane Irwin (Monkstown) – Paul O’Neill (Shannon) 69

Darragh Lynch (The Golf Course at Adare Manor) – Dave Carroll (Ballyneety) 69

7th Cormac Flannery (Ceann Sibeal) – Billy O’Boyle (Bandon) 70

Stephen Hayes (Stephan Hayes Golf) – Shane Livesey (Monkstown) 70

9th Ted Higgins (Rathsallagh) – Gary Howie (Castletroy) 71