Munster win against Connacht, Senior Interprovincials

2017 Interprovincial Matches at Carlow Golf Club

Peter Sinclair (President, GUI) presenting Seamus McParland (Team Captain) with the 2017 Interprovincial trophy after Leinster victory at Carlow Golf Club today (05/07/2017). Also in the picture in front (from left) John Cullen (Team Manager), Moling Lennon (Captain, Carlow Golf Club) and John Ferriter (Chairman, Leinster Golf, GUI). Team members at back (from left) Caolan Rafferty, Jake Whelan, Eugene Smith, Jonathan Yates, Mark Power, Alan Lowry, Conor Purcell and Daniel Holland. Picture by Pat Cashman

Munster had a very strong closing performance in the final day of the Senior Interprovincials.  They won both sessions to claim a win against Connacht which gave some satisfaction after two tough days.  Foursomes wins from O’Keeffe and McCormack meant that the pair were unbeaten in three matches.  Gary O’Flaherty and Geoff Lenehan picked up their second win as a pair and Jack Pierse and John Murphy secured a half to win the session.  Afternoon wins from O’Keeffe, Lenehan, Griffin, Pierse and O’Flaherty secured the win for Munster.  Unfortunately Munster could only finish 3rd, losing a spot on the countback to Ulster.  The third place probably didn’t reflect how close Munster came to a win.  They were within one match of halving with Leinster and Ulster battled back to claim a half on Tuesday.  Leinster completed their first hat-trick since 1964 by winning a third successive Interprovincial Championship at Carlow.

Not since that great side of the ’60s won four on the trot from ’62 to ’65 have Leinster managed such a streak. And with three wins on the board, this was a thumping success.

Following wins against Munster and Connacht, Leinster only needed to halve with Ulster in order to retain the title but they made certain anyway, victorious for the third day running.  Dominant Continue reading

Munster set for Interpro’s, Day 1 at Carlow Golf Club

Phil Cooney, Captain of the Munster Senior Interprovincial Team

Phil Cooney

Munster Captain Phil Cooney has named his pairings for this mornings foursomes match which tee’s off in Carlow at 8am.  Peter O’Keeffe and Andrew McCormack lead out the Munster side which will face Leinster.  The seven golfers to contest the singles will be announced later this morning with the singles scheduled to get underway at 1pm.

Cooney is looking for his third interprovincial title and has a strong team in place to challenge.

Munster v Leinster (Foursomes)

Peter O’Keeffe & Andrew McCormack
Jonathan Yates & Mark Power

John Murphy & James Sugrue
Caolan Rafferty & Eugene Smith

Geoff Lenehan & Jack Pierse
Conor Purcell & Jake Whelan

Gary O’Flaherty & Eanna Griffin
Daniel Holland & Alan Lowry