Munster win against Connacht, Senior Interprovincials

2017 Interprovincial Matches at Carlow Golf Club

Peter Sinclair (President, GUI) presenting Seamus McParland (Team Captain) with the 2017 Interprovincial trophy after Leinster victory at Carlow Golf Club today (05/07/2017). Also in the picture in front (from left) John Cullen (Team Manager), Moling Lennon (Captain, Carlow Golf Club) and John Ferriter (Chairman, Leinster Golf, GUI). Team members at back (from left) Caolan Rafferty, Jake Whelan, Eugene Smith, Jonathan Yates, Mark Power, Alan Lowry, Conor Purcell and Daniel Holland. Picture by Pat Cashman

Munster had a very strong closing performance in the final day of the Senior Interprovincials.  They won both sessions to claim a win against Connacht which gave some satisfaction after two tough days.  Foursomes wins from O’Keeffe and McCormack meant that the pair were unbeaten in three matches.  Gary O’Flaherty and Geoff Lenehan picked up their second win as a pair and Jack Pierse and John Murphy secured a half to win the session.  Afternoon wins from O’Keeffe, Lenehan, Griffin, Pierse and O’Flaherty secured the win for Munster.  Unfortunately Munster could only finish 3rd, losing a spot on the countback to Ulster.  The third place probably didn’t reflect how close Munster came to a win.  They were within one match of halving with Leinster and Ulster battled back to claim a half on Tuesday.  Leinster completed their first hat-trick since 1964 by winning a third successive Interprovincial Championship at Carlow.

Not since that great side of the ’60s won four on the trot from ’62 to ’65 have Leinster managed such a streak. And with three wins on the board, this was a thumping success.

Following wins against Munster and Connacht, Leinster only needed to halve with Ulster in order to retain the title but they made certain anyway, victorious for the third day running.  Dominant in the morning foursomes, winning three matches, Leinster needed just two more points. And with comprehensive wins for Conor Purcell, Jonathan Yates and Mark Power at the top of the order, Seamus McParland’s side were celebrating once again.

GUI Inter-Provincial Championship, Carlow Golf Club, Day Three – Wednesday 5 July

Leinster 7 Ulster 4walker_01


Jonathan Yates & Mark Power beat Tiarnan McLarnon & Reece Black 2&1; Caolan Rafferty & Eugene Smith beat Jordan Hood & Kyle McCarron 2&1; Conor Purcell & Jake Whelan beat Gareth Lappin & Marc Norton 3&2; Daniel Holland & Alan Lowry lost to Stuart Bleakley & Ross Dutton 1 hole


Caolan Rafferty beat Tiarnan McLarnon 1 hole; Conor Purcell beat Gareth Lappin; Mark Power beat Jordan Hood 6&5; Jonathan Yates beat Ross Dutton 5&4; Alan Lowry lost to Stuart Bleakley 4&3; Eugene Smith lost to Kyle McCarron 1 hole; Daniel Holland lost to Marc Norton 1 hole

Munster 7.5 Connacht 3.5


Peter O’Keeffe & Andrew McCormack beat Devin Morley & Jack McDonnell 1 hole; Jack Pierse & John Murphy halved with Ronan Mullarney & Cathal Nolan; James Sugrue & Eanna Griffin lost to Sean Flanagan & TJ Ford 4&3; Gary O’Flaherty & Geoff Lenehan beat Barry Anderson & Mark Morrissey 1 hole


Peter O’Keefe beat Devin Morley 2&1; Geoff Lenehan beat Ronan Mullarney 1hole; John Murphy lost to Jack McDonnell 1 hole; James Sugrue lost to Barry Anderson 1 hole; Jack Pierse beat TJ Ford 2 holes; Eanna Griffin beat Mark Morrissey 6&5; Gary O’Flaherty beat Sean Flanagan 2&1

Overall Standings

  1. Leinster
  2. Ulster
  3. Munster
  4. Connacht