Higgins retains Morgan O’Donovan Perpetual Trophy

David Higgins pictures with Stephen Hayes

David Higgins pictures with Stephen Hayes

Congrats to David Higgins who won the Morgan O’Donovan Perpetual Trophy in Monkstown today.  The Waterville golfer shot an amazing 62 to win the title by 6 shots.  David Ryan was second and Cian McNamara took third place.

Monkstown was in great condition today, with the greens in particular coming in for praise from the Munster Professionals.  The amateur prize was won by 10 year old Wayne Whitley O’Callaghan, and the young star combined with his Dad Wayne Snr to come second in the team pro-am.

The Premium Golf Brands Order of Merit was won by Cian McNamara, winning by the narrowest of margins from David Ryan.  This is the fourth year that the Cork based golf and sportswear company has sponsored the series and confirms their commitment to the Munster PGA.  Stephen Hayes is the incoming Captain of the Munster PGA, taking over from Cobh’s David O’Sullivan after a very successful year.

Higgins is having a good run of form.  He has a new sponsor on board, mac-interiors, and since Mac came on board David has won five pro-am competitions.  He’ll be looking to continue that form in May as he prepares for the DDF Irish Open at the K Club and the BMW PGA Championship in Wentworth.

Morgan O’Donovan Perpetual Trophy, Monkstown Golf Club (Munster PGA)

Sponsored by Club 4 2000, Mark Wise

Professional Prizes:
1st David Higgins 62
2nd David Ryan 68
3rd Cian McNamara 70
4th David Foley, Davey Barry 72
6th Liam Higgins, Tim Rice 73

Amateur Prizes:
1st Wayne Whitley O’Callaghan 39
2nd Cathal Kelly 38
3rd Aidan Farren 37 b9

Pro-Am Prizes:
1st David Higgins Andy Daly 49pts
2nd Wayne O Callaghan Wayne Whitley O’Callaghan 48pts

Premium Golf Brands Order of Merit Winner:
Cian McNamara

Wayne Whitley O'Callaghan Monkstown April 2016

Munster PGA Captain David O’Sullivan pictured with David Higgins