No Friday Feeling for Cork Golfers in Lahinch, South of Ireland Day 3 Report

Munster Strokeplay Championship 2016

Cathal Butler (Kinsale) 

Friday was a bad day for Cork golfers in Lahinch as the matchplay stages of the Pierse Motors South of Ireland got underway. Four Cork golfers qualified through to the top 64 matchplay, but by Friday evening all four had exited the competition.  Paul McCarthy made a stunning start to the competition on Wednesday and Thursday during the strokeplay qualifying rounds.  McCarthy was -5 for 36 holes but lost out in the matchplay when David Foy beat him on the 16th green.  Peter O’Keeffe also lost out in the first round.  Robbie Cannon, his playing partner from Wednesday and Thursday got the better of him with an impressive 6&4 win.

Golffile Gallery from Day 3 at Lahinch

John Hickey won his morning match against Rosslare’s Gary Collins but then lost out in the second round when beaten by Daniel Holland by one hole.  Kinsale’s Cathal Butler also made it through the first round with a win on the 18th green over former champions Pat Murray.  Like the other Cork golfers though, he lost out in one of the later matches this afternoon, losing on the 16th to Stephen Watts.  The final 16 are back on the course tomorrow morning and four more round face the finalists when the competition concludes on Sunday.

South of Ireland Amateur Open , Sponsored by Pierse Motors

Tiarnan McLarnon (Massereene) bt Evan Farrell (Ardee) 2/1
Rowan Lester (Hermitage) bt Devin Morley (Oughterard) 2/1
David Foy (Laytown & Bettystown) bt hane Hogan (Nenagh) 5/3
John Greene (Portmarnock) bt Paul McBride (The Island) 20th
Jake Whelan (Newlands) bt Stuart Bleakley (Shandon Park) 4/2
Sean Flanagan (Co Sligo) bt Michael Reddan (Limerick) 2/1
Daniel Holland (Castle) bt John Hickey (Cork) 1H
Arthur Pierse (Tipperary) bt John Ross Galbraith (Whitehead) 2/1
Colm Campbell Jr. (Warrenpoint) bt Aaron Grant (Dundalk) 3/2
James Gerard Fox (Portmarnock) bt Paul O’Hanlon (Carton House) 4/2
Jordan Hood (Galgorm Castle) bt Geoff Lenehan (Portmarnock) 2H
Robin Dawson (Tramore)bt Robert Cannon (Balbriggan) 1H
Thomas Mulligan (Co. Louth) bt Eanna Griffin (Waterford) 4/3
Conor Purcell (Portmarnock) bt Andrew McCormack (Castletroy) 3/2
Stephen Watts (Cairndhu) bt Cathal Butler (Kinsale) 4/2
Alex Gleeson (Castle) bt Jack Pierse (Portmarnock) 3/2


Tiarnan McLarnon (Massereene) bt Nils Conway (Grange) 2/1
Evan Farrell (Ardee) bt Shaun Carter (The Royal Dublin) 2H
Devin Morley (Oughterard) bt Fergal O’Sullivan (Tralee) 1H
Rowan Lester (Hermitage) w/o Michael Ryan (New Ross)
David Foy (Laytown & Bettystown) bt Paul McCarthy (Mallow) 3/2
Shane Hogan (Nenagh) bt Marc Nolan (Delgany) 4/3
John Greene (Portmarnock) bt Ted Collins (Dun Laoghaire) 4/3
Paul McBride (The Island) bt Ryan Berkeley (Dun Laoghaire) 2H
Jake Whelan (Newlands) bt Eamonn Haugh (Castletroy) 2/1
Stuart Bleakley (Shandon Park) bt Stephen Coulter (Warrenpoint) 2/1
Michael Reddan (Limerick) bt Luke Donnelly (Kilkenny) 2/1
Sean Flanagan (Co Sligo) bt Liam Grehan (Mullingar) 2/1
Daniel Holland (Castle) bt Paul Carey (Nenagh) 1H
 John Hickey (Cork) bt Gary Collins (Rosslare) 1H
Arthur Pierse (Tipperary) bt Eugene Smith (Ardee) 3/2
John Ross Galbraith (Whitehead) bt Paul O’Hara (Kilkenny) 1H
Colm Campbell Jnr (Warrenpoint) bt David Brady (Co. Sligo) 3/2
Aaron Grant (Dundalk) bt Gerard Dunne (Co. Louth) 1H
James Gerard Fox (Portmarnock) bt Jamie Sutherland (Galgorm Castle) 2/1
Paul O’Hanlon (Carton House) bt William Small (Tandragee) 1H
Jordan Hood (Galgorm Castle) bt Keith Egan (Carton House) 1H
Geoff Lenehan (Portmarnock) bt Declan Reidy (Co. Sligo) 1H
Robert Cannon (Balbriggan) bt Peter O’ Keeffe (Douglas) 6/4
Robin Dawson (Tramore) bt Cian Geraghty (Laytown & Bettystown) 3/2
Thomas Mulligan (Co. Louth) bt Cole Madey (USA) 5/4
Eanna Griffin (Waterford) bt Rob Brazill (Naas) 19th
Andrew McCormack (Castletroy) bt Marc Norton (Belvoir Park) 1H
Conor Purcell (Portmarnock) bt Dean McMahon (Castletroy) 4/3
Cathal Butler (Kinsale) bt Pat Murray (Limerick) 1H
Stephen Watts (Cairndhu) bt Greg Mungovan (Headfort) 1H
Jack Pierse (Portmarnock) bt Jack McDonnell (Forrest Little) 5/4
Alex Gleeson (Castle) bt Robbie Pierse (Grange) 2/1