No Joy for Mallow in Fred Daly Munster Semi-Final

Fred Daly Trophy Munster Finals, Newcastle West Golf Club, Saturday 6th August 2016Mallow suffered a loss at the hands of a strong Limerick side in Newcastle West yesterday in the Munster semi-final of the Fred Daly Trophy.  The previous evening Mallow had lost a nail biting final in the Irish Junior Foursomes, but they pitched up in Newcastle West on Saturday morning with a strong side ready for battle.  Adam Boland, Liam Dowling, Greg Barrett and Edward Walsh all started for Mallow, with Daniel O’Sullivan taking the anchor spot having played in the Junior Foursomes.

Gallery: Fred Daly Trophy Munster semi-finals at Newcastle West

It was a tight match all the way through, Limerick had a narrow lead at the halfway point and similar to Friday’s play Mallow staged a comeback on the back nine.  Limerick however weren’t to be caught and the 16th and 17th proved crucial as Limerick picked up the three points on these holes.  Ed Walsh won for Mallow while Adam Boland was called in on the 19th having taken his match with Ciaran Vaughan to an extra hole.

Limerick went on to win the final against Waterford Castle, in another exciting match Limerick claimed the title on the 19th hole.

Gallery: Fred Daly Trophy Munster Final & Presentation at Newcastle West

Fred Daly Trophy Munster Semi-Finals

Limerick 3.5-1.5 Mallow
Ciaran Vaughan halved with Adam Boland (called in)
Sean Enright beat Greg Barrett 3&2
Morgan Hanley lost to Edward Walsh 4&3
Luke O’Brien beat Liam Dowling 3&2
Ross Fitzgerald beat Daniel O’Sullivan 3&2

Waterford Castle 3-2 Ballybunion
Andrew Mulhall lost to Ronan Cross 3&2
Ryan O’Connor lost to Iarla O’Mahony 2&1
Jack Power beat Jordan Ryan 19th
Jody Walsh beat Philip Byrne 4&3
Brian Sheridan beat Tom McKeon 3&1

Munster Final
Limerick 3-2 Waterford Castle
Sean Enright lost to Andrew Mulhall 4&2
Ciaran Vaughan beat Ryan O’Connor 4&2
Luke O’Brien lost to Jack Power 5&4
Morgan Hanley beat Jody Walsh 5&4
Ross Fitzgerald beat Brian Sheridan 19th hole