McSweeney and Butler in top ten at Intervarsities

AIG Junior Cup Munster Finals

Adam McSweeney (CIT/Douglas)

Adam McSweeney (CIT) and Cathal Butler (Maynooth) lead the Cork challenge at the Inter Varsity Championship aft both shot 69’s in today’s first round.  Lahinch was in great condition for the opening round and the benign weather made for some good scoring.  Kyle McCarron (Maynooth) led the way with a great 66.

McSweeney had seven birdies in a colourful round.  A double bogey on the 6th hurt, as did a bogey on the 17th when he was standing on -4.  Cathal Butler had a tough start with bogies on the first and second, but he soon made up for it with an eagle on the 4th.  Six birdies followed but three dropped shots meant that he signed for a 69.  Both are well inside the top ten going into the second round. Inter Varsities Gallery Round 1

James Sugrue (CIT) was out early this morning and finished with a one under par 71, an eagle on the last brought him back into red figures and he’s in 12th place going into the second round.  John Hickey (CIT) is two shots back after an opening 73.

Paula Walsh (UCC) in is 7th place in the ladies competition after shooting 78 today, an eagle 3 on the 15th was the highlight of her round.  Maynooth’s Mary Doyle holds the lead after posting a 72.

Men’s Intervarsity Championships, Lahinch Golf Club

Smartphones Direct66 Kyle McCarron (MU)
68 Sean Flanagan (MU)
69 Jack Mc Donnell (MU), Eoin O’Brien (MU), Marc Nolan (IADT), Adam McSweeney (CIT), Cathal Butler (MU), Kevin Le Blanc (MU), James Lindsay (UU)
70 Ted Collins (UCD), Eoghan Collins (DCU)
71 James Sugrue (CIT), James McVicker (UU), Stefan Greenberg (UU), Sean Burke (NUIG), Eugene Smith (MU), Ross Dutton (UU), Andrew Mccormack (UL), Ronan Mullarney (MU)
72 Robin Dawson (MU), Aodan Comerford (NUIG), Neil McKinstry (UU), Gareth Mann (UCD)
73 James Lawlor (MU), John Hickey (CIT), Paul Kelly (MU)
74 Ryan McCullough (UU), Niall Worth (DIT), Eanna Griffin (MU), David Foy (UL), Kieran Lynch (MU), Shane McDermott (NUIG), John Murphy (MU), Liam Grehan (MU)
75 Jonathan Quinn (DCU), Ryan O’Doherty (NUIG), Michael O’Farrell (NUIG), Michael Kennelly (NUIG), Gavin Fitzmaurice (UCD), Jordan Hood (MU)
76 Marc McKinstry (QUB), Ross Steedman (MU), William Eickholt (DCU), Craig Foley (CIT), Craig Melvin (MU)
77 Marc McCormack (MU), William Byrne (MU), Patrick Hartnett (UU), Timmy Broderick (UL), Charles McGoldrick (NUIG), John McCarthy (UCD), Alastair McQuillan (UU), Nicholas Armstrong (TCD), Thomas Dillon (QUB), Aaron Ryan (MU), Robert Browne (UCD)
78 James Andrew O’Rourke (UCD), Colin Woodroofe (MU), Eoin Goggin (CIT), Conor Roche (CIT), Jonathan Doherty (DCU)
79 Bill Murray (UCC), Luke Cummins (CIT)
80 Anton Brennan (NUIG), Philip O’Sullivan (QUB), John Boylan (UCC), Micheal Shiel (NUIG)
81 Gareth Carr (MU), Aaron Donegan (UCC), Eoin Conway (UCD)
82 Alex Murray (DIT)
83 Luke Branagan (DIT), Shane O’Neill Jnr (LIT)
84 Conor Harte (UCD), Cian Feeney (MU)
85 Jack Murphy (CIT)
86 Barry O’Sullivan-Geaney (CIT), Tristan Coakley (CIT)
89 Barry Fitzpatrick (DIT)
90 Jason Daly (LIT)
NR Ronan O’Callaghan (MU)

Ladies Intervarsity Championships, Lahinch Golf Club

72 Mary Doyle (MU)
73 Meadhbh Doyle (MU), Raychelle Santos (UU), Chloe Ryan (UCD)
76 Rachel McDonnell (UCD)
77 Shannon Burke (MU)
78 Paula Walsh (UCC), Gemma McCarthy (MU), Clodagh Walsh (MU)
80 Judithe Allen (UU)
82 Aoife Ni Thuama (UCC)
85 Ruth Dillon (UCD)
86 Eleanor Metcalfe (MU)