Nominations finalised for Munster Branch

Munster Golf LogoFor the first time in many years there will be a three way election for the post of Chairman of the Munster Branch.  The Annual delegates meeting takes place later this month and the election will see two Munster Branch Officers and a former Officer contest the election.  There is one nomination for each of the other Officer posts and there are 21 nominees for the 17 places on the Provincial Council.

The election for Chairman takes place as current Chairman John Moloughney vacates the position to take up the role of Deputy President of the Golfing Union of Ireland.  Although a nomination process takes place annually, the incumbent usually holds the post for 4 years and an election is rare even when the Chairman vacates the position.  The three nominees are:

Liam Harkin (Muskerry) holds the role of Match & Handicapping  Secretary and has been nominated by Muskerry.
Jim Long (Monkstown) is the current Honorary Secretary and he has been nominated by the Provincial Council.
Michael Lawlor (Ballybunion) is a former Match & Handicapping Secretary and is nominated by Castleisland Golf Club.

Both Harkin and Long will have an advantage over Lawlor given their current high profile roles within the organisation, Lawlor was unsuccessful in two previous attempts.  It’s set to be an interesting contest.  With two of the likely candidates from Cork, neither will have a distinct geographical advantage.

There are more changes in the line up of Officers as two existing Officers will contest for  the role of Chairman.  Peter English (Limerick) is set to be returned as the Honorary Treasurer, while Barry Lynch (Raffeen Creek) is nominated for the position of Honorary Secretary.  Dave Prendergast (Cork) is nominated as Honorary Match & Handicapping Secretary.

golf_munster-branch-adm_nov-2015Despite the fact that three serving provincial council member are not going forward (Joe Rouine is retiring and Barry Lynch & Dave Prendergast are both taking up Officer positions) there are 21 nominees for the 17 positions.  Muskerry’s DAve Taylor is the only new nominee from Cork, while Jim Long who will contest the election for Chairman is also nominated for Council.

Nominees for Provincial Council

Munster Branch GUI ADM & Awards 24th November 2015Adair Gordon (Douglas)
Carroll John (Bandon)
Cooney Phil (Lee Valley)
Coote Michael (Tralee)
Donnelly Tom (Youghal)
Dunne Pat (Roscrea)
Fennessy John (Clonmel)
Glynn Kevin (Lahinch)
Keane Tom (Ballybunion)
Long Jim (Monkstown)
Lyne Jim (Glengarriff)
*Magill Brendan (East Clare)
*Moran Sean (Adare Manor)
Murphy Michael P (Newcastle West)
Murray Kevin (Tramore)
*Nolan Jim (Macroom)
O’Leary Sean (Mahon)
Punch Brian (Castletroy)
*Taylor David (Muskerry)
*Troy Liam (Thurles)
*Turner Sean (Castleisland)
*indicates new nominee

Smartphones Direct