Murphy leads Cork Challenge, Munster Students Day 1

John Murphy April 2016John Murphy (Kinsale/MU) lies just one shot off the lead after day one in the Munster Students Championship at Cork Golf Club.  The Munster Boys champion finished on two under after carding four birdies and two bogies.  The lead is held by Stefan Greenberg (Tandragee) and David Foy (Laytown & Bettystown)on three under, while holder Jack McDonnell (Forrest Little/MU) is just one shot off the lead.

Sean Desmond (Monkstown/UCC) is in the top ten after signing for a one over par 73.  Desmond won a Munster Senior Cup title with Monkstown in Cork last August and the course clearly suits him.  The UCC student was four under through six holes but he dropped two shots before the turn.He had a mixed start to the back nine and a double bogey 15th meant that he signed for a 73.  Kinsale’s Cathal Butler is one shot back and also in the top ten.  He eagled the par five second hole but that was the highlight as he added four bogies to card a two over par 74.

Live Scoring Link

Darren Hourihan, James Sugrue, Jack Howard and Gary Ward are all inside the top thirty, but with just 27 (plus ties) to make it through to the third round, a good second round will be essential.  Mary Doyle (The Heath) leads the ladies section, she has a three stroke lead after shooting a three under par round.

Munster Students Amateur Open Championship

CSS 75 Results after Day 1 (Men)

69 S Greenberg (Tandragee); D Foy (Laytown & Bettystown)
70 J MURPHY (Kinsale); J Mc Donnell (Forrest Little)
71 P Cummins (Lurgan)
72 H O’Hare (Fortwilliam); K McCarron (Maynooth Scholars (b))
73 S Desmond (Monkstown)
74 R Mullarney (Galway); J McVicker (Knock); E Griffin (Waterford); J Quinn (The Island); C BUTLER (Kinsale); C Bolger (Carlow)
75 G Carr (Mullingar); R Dutton (Tandragee); D Hourihan (Douglas); C Woodroofe (Dun Laoghaire); B Lawlor (Ardee); E Collins (Laytown & Bettystown); W Small (Tandragee); S FLANAGAN (Co. Sligo)
76 B MURRAY (Waterford Castle); E O’Brien (Clontarf); J Sugrue (Mallow); J Howard (Fota Island); H Foley (The Royal Dublin); G Ward (Kinsale); C Nolan (Galway)
77 M HEALY (Kinsale); J Cleary (Elm Park); T Coakley (Bantry Bay); W Byrne (Baltinglass); C Spicer (Dromoland); A Ryan (Thurles); M McCormack (Ashbourne); C Melvin (Corrstown); C Moloney (Fota Island)
78 E Goggin (Mallow); B Doran (Baltinglass); T Collins (Dun Laoghaire)
79 J Boylan (Douglas); S Carroll (Ballybunion); M McKenna (Dun Laoghaire); M Kennelly (Athenry); R Brazill (Naas); R Steedman (Courtown)
80 O Fleming (Dun Laoghaire); A Comerford (NUIG (a)); C FEENEY (Co. Sligo); A Crowley (The Island); A McSweeney (Douglas); O Crooks (Bushfoot); A MAGEE (Powerscourt); L Cummins (West Waterford); T Ford (Co. Sligo); N McCann (Lurgan)
81 D BRADY (Co. Sligo); R Dineen (Cork)
82 J Grant  (The Island); B MURRAY (Waterford Castle); D Howard (Fota Island); M O’Farrell (Galway)
83 C Roche (Mallow); L Grehan (Mullingar); E Rumley (Kinsale); J McCarthy (Stackstown); J Alton (Slievenamon)
84 F Geary (Ballybunion); A Riordan (Blarney)
85 C Guiller (Cairndhu); M Mc Gurk (Warrenpoint); D Flynn (Carton House); P Kelly (Glasson); J O’Neill (Tralee)
86 P Twohig (Fota Island); A Lennie (Clandeboye); D O’ Brien (Millicent); C O’Carroll (Charleville)
87 M SHIEL (Athenry); K Lynch (Skibbereen); J Lawlor (Naas); K McDermott (Highfield)
88 P Jordan (Lurgan)
89 D O’Sullivan  (Monkstown); D Devlin (Fota Island)
90 D Herlihy (West Waterford)
NR G YOUNG (Nenagh)
DQ C Harte  (Castle)
WD R Calnan (Lee Valley)
RTD J O’Flynn (Cork)
DQ S Burke (Galway); J Hood (Galgorm Castle)

Smartphones Direct