Munster Strokeplay closing date approaching

Munster Strokeplay Championship 2016

2016 winner Cathal Butler (Kinsale)  Picture: Niall O’Shea

The closing date for entries for the Munster Strokeplay Championshipis just a week away so it’s a timely reminder for anyone who wants to compete in Cork’s premier 72 hole tournament.  Cork Golf Club will again host the event, with the winner receiving the historic Cork Scratch Cup, the oldest scratch cup in the country.

Gallery: Munster Strokeplay 2016

Holder Cathal Butler (Kinsale) won the event last year after an exciting play-off win over Cork’s Gary O’Flaherty.  Butler has already entered, as has Kinsale’s John Murphy who won the Munster Student’s Championship in Cork GC this week.  This year the Munster Strokeplay is a counting event for the GUI Order of Merit (Willie Gill Award) and that should be an added incentive for golfers to travel to Cork for the May Bank Holiday weekend.  The event has been a WAGR counting event for several years, and it also counts towards the Munster Senior Order of Merit.  Last year there were over 50 golfers playing off scratch or better, and the indications are that a similar standard will be seen when the event gets underway on Saturday 29th April.  Peter O’Keeffe (+2.9), Ian O’Rourke (+2.6), Mark Power (+2.5) and James Sugrue (+2) head the entrants at present.  A total of 78 golfer will compete in the opening 36 holes, with the top 39 (plus ties) going forward for the second 36 holes on Sunday 30th April.

Munster Strokeplay Championship 2017 Entry Form