Castletroy Senior Scratch Cup Launch

Castletroy SSC Launch 2017

Liam McDonnell, Captain, Liz Horgan, Bank of Ireland and Corrie Ward, President of Castletroy Golf Club       
Picture by Dave Gaynor

Castletroy Golf Club has announced details of this year’s Senior Scratch Cup, which is, once again kindly sponsored by Bank of Ireland.  The competition takes place on Saturday, May 20th.   First competed for in 1948, the Castletroy trophy is one of the oldest and most prestigious scratch cups in the country and attracts the cream of Munster golf and some of Ireland’s best amateur golfers each year.  As a Munster Senior Golf “Order of Merit” tournament, results in the Castletroy Senior Scratch Cup are included in the selection criteria for the Munster team in the Senior Golf Interprovincial Series.   The course, currently ranked at #61 in Ireland and measuring almost 7,000 yards off the back tees, consistentlyoffers a stiff challenge to any player on the senior scratch cup circuit.  Last year’s edition was no different with a very impressive fourteen “plus” handicapped golfers and ten “scratch” golfers in the field.

Last year’s winner was, Munster Provincial stalwart, Gary O’Flaherty from Cork GC with rounds of 71 and 70 strokes (-3 under).  Former winners include Niall Gorey, Eddie McCormack, Mark Shanahan and Alan Thomas, not to mention the illustrious names of JB Carr, Liam Higgins, Vincent Nevin and Des Smyth.  Over the years, local golfers such as Eamon Haugh, John Kavanagh, Michael O’Kelly and Peter Sheehan have also lifted this prestigious trophy.

Entries are invited to Castletroy Golf Club at (061) 335 753 or  The handicap limit is 4 and confined to the lowest 72 entrants.  Gunshot starts at 9am and 2.30pm on the day. The entry fee of €30 includes lunch. Closing date for entries is Thursday, 18th May @ 3pm