Hickey & O’Flaherty lead Cork charge at East of Ireland

John Hickey pictured during the Lee Valley Senior Scratch Cup.

John Hickey

John Hickey shot a two under par 70 in Baltray this morning to finish the first round in 5th place.  A steady round saw Hickey turn on -2 after two birdies.  He added a third bridie on the 14th but bogied the par three 15th immediately after that.  Two more pars followed and he signed for a 70 which is just one shot off the lead set but a group of four golfers.  Gary O’Flaherty returned to competitive golf after a short break and he went round the Co Louth links in a very respectable 71 strokes.  Like his Cork Golf Club partner Hickey, Gary also had a very tidy round.  Two birdies, one bogey and fifteen pars made up the card that saw him tie for ninth place just two shots away from the leading bunch.  The fourway tie at the top is held by Jack Pierse, Alan Lowy, DAavid Foy and Colin Woodroofe.  John Murphy finished on level par after a colourful round which included an eagle, four bogies and two birdies (in that order).  Murphy is just inside the top 25 and within reach of the leaders.  Gary Ward also had a good round, a double bogey on the 7th was balanced by four birdies and he finished on +2 in 39th place.


Cathal Butler and James Sugrue both finished on +2 while Sean Desmond and Mark Shanahan will be hoping for better tomorrow as they both signed for 79th in a disappointing opening round.
East of Ireland Amateur Open Championship
Friday 2 June 2017​
Scores after Round 1​
69 D Foy (Laytown & Bettystown); A Lowry (Esker Hills); J Pierse (Portmarnock); C Woodroofe (Dun Laoghaire)
70 J Hickey (Cork); D Morgan (Carton House); C Geraghty (Laytown & Bettystown); D Holland (Castle)
71 B MURRAY (Waterford Castle); P O’Hanlon (Carton House); G O’Flaherty (Cork); C Denvir (Elm Park); A McDaid (Palmerstown Stud); R Black (Hilton Templepatrick); R Moran (Castle); P Murray (Clontarf); P Coughlan (Moate); S O’Connor (Luttrellstown Castle); M Power (Kilkenny); G Fitzmaurice (Balcarrick); G Carr (Mullingar); J Carvill (Banbridge)
72 J Whelan (Newlands); P KERR (Royal Portrush); G Collins (Rosslare); G Lappin (Belvoir Park); L Donnelly (Kilkenny); R Kelly (Tuam); J Greene (Portmarnock); J Mc Donnell (Forrest Little); R Brazill (Naas); S FLANAGAN (Co. Sligo); A Hickey (Ballyhaunis); S Cullen (Slieve Russell); M Nolan (Delgany); D Coghlan (Portmarnock); J MURPHY (Kinsale); R Pierse (Grange)
73 G Mungovan (Headfort); J KNIPE (Royal Portrush); S Bleakley (Shandon Park); B Anderson (The Royal Dublin); M O’Rourke (Royal Tara); R Cannon (Balbriggan); E Farrell (Ardee); G Ward (Kinsale); R Berkeley (Dun Laoghaire); M Kennelly (Athenry); K Murphy (Charlesland); T McLarnon (Massereene); M Looby (Greystones)
74 C BUTLER (Kinsale); J Sugrue (Mallow); J Walsh (Castle); C O’CONNOR (Corrstown); M Norton (Belvoir Park); S GARRETT (Portstewart); E Leonard (Wentworth/Killiney); C Rafferty (Dundalk); P O’Brien (Co. Louth); S Doyle (The Island); R KNIGHTLY (The Royal Dublin); D Brennan (Shannon); A HILL (Athenry); S Sweeney (USA); R Dutton (Tandragee); T Ford (Co. Sligo); Z Glynn (Bray); A Myles (Newlands); M MORRISSEY (Co. Sligo)
75 R Williamson (Holywood); J Fletcher (Warrenpoint); G Lenehan (Portmarnock); E Griffin (Waterford); K McCarron (North West); M MCKINSTRY (Cairndhu); S Healy (The Royal Dublin); W Small (Tandragee); D Brophy (castleknock); K LeBlanc (island); R Neville (The Links Portmarnock); L Grehan (Mullingar)
76 G Smyth (Clonmel); D Reddan Jnr (Nenagh); C Ryan (Dun Laoghaire); D Morley (Oughterard); G McDermott (Carton House); M Boucher (Carton House); R Hynes (The Royal Dublin); T Collins (Dun Laoghaire); N Grant (Shandon Park); S Greenberg (Tandragee)
77 P Murphy (Rosslare); C Raymond (Newlands); A DOWLING (Hermitage); J McVicker (Knock Golf Club); G Bohill (Co. Louth); M FITZSIMONS (Ardglass); J Brady (Rosslare); D REIDY (Co. Sligo); G Dunne (Co. Louth); S Carter (The Royal Dublin); A Maguire (Laytown & Bettystown)
78 A Grant (Dundalk); D Crawford (Bundoran); J McGinn (Laytown & Bettystown); C Nolan (Galway); S McGlynn (Portmarnock); H Foley (The Royal Dublin); M KANE (Larne); J Doherty (Carton House); T Hackett (The Royal Dublin); C Kelly (USA)
79 M Shanahan (Castlemartyr); S Kinch (Hollystown); W Russell (Clandeboye); C Dullaghan (Greenore); I Lynch (Rosslare); S Desmond (Monkstown)
80 P Carey (Nenagh); E Smith (Laytown & Bettystown); E Murphy (Dundalk)
81 D O’Neill (Carton House); D Coyle (Portmarnock)
82 D Smith (Castle); G MCGRANE (The Royal Dublin); D BRADY (Co. Sligo); P O’Sullivan (Old Conna); J FOX (Portmarnock)
84 S Mc Dermott (Co. Cavan); A Doran (Ardee)
RTD R McKinstry (Cairndhu)​