Crean & O’Donovan Challenge in Leinster.

Munster Seniors Open Championship 2016, Tramore Golf Club, Wednesday 11th May 2016

Donal O’Donovan

Jerry Crean and Donal O’Donovan are tied for fourth after they both shot opening rounds of 76 in the Leinster Seniors Open at Dun Laoghaire.  Kinsale’s Crean had a tough start with bogies on the first and second, and a double bogey on the ninth meant that he turned on +4.  He made the trip back in level par though, and that saw him finish in a tie for fourth place.  Donie O’Donovan had a better start with a birdie on the 2nd, but a few dropped shots saw him turn on +2.  He followed that with eight straight pars but a mistake on the final hole cost him two shots and he also signed for a 76 (+4).

Holder Micheal Quirke is one shot back alongside Tom Cleary on 77, both are in a large group that are tied for 10th place.  Both are six shots off the lead and still in with a chance of challenging in tomorrow’s final round.  Fota’s George Mellerick is back in the pack after a disappointing 85.  Dun Laoghaire Golf Course proved to be a very testing challenge for the players at the Leinster Seniors Championship today despite the very benign conditions.  Frank Flynn (Laytown & Bettystown) leads the way after Round One with an excellent score of 71.  Flynn was the only player in the field to break par, he finished one under with a round that included six birdies.


Leinster Seniors Amateur Open Championship 2017, Dun Laoghaire GC
Results After Round One (Par: 72, SSS: 74, CSS: 75)
71 F Flynn (Laytown & Bettystown)
73 A Morrow (Portmarnock)
74 R Joyce (Oughterard)
76 J Gilbert (Malone); J Crean (Kinsale); T Lennon (Carlow); E Heywood (City of derry); D O’Donovan (Bandon); J McVeigh (Carlow)
77 J Hughes (Woodbrook); T Tyrrell (The Heath); I Smyth (Clandeboye); M Quirke (Doneraile); B Whitaker (Elm Park); T Cleary (Cork); R McCartney (Royal Portrush); A Egan (Royal Curragh)
78 K Knightly (The Royal Dublin); P Rogers (Dundalk); C Sothern (woodbrook); N Mannion (Dun Laoghaire); D Walpole (Milltown); H Smyth (Mourne); B O’Leary (Greystones); M Rourke (Ardglass)
79 M Coote (Tralee); L Halpin (Westport); M Kelly (Naas)
80 R Smyth (Laytown & Bettystown); J Mitchell (Tramore); S Bell (Gracehill); M D’arcy (Oughterard); P Lewis (Woodbrook); P Early (The Royal Dublin); N Steedman (European)
81 D Coyle (K Club); G McGimpsey (Royal Portrush); D Wilson (Royal Co. Down); N Duke (Killiney); M Ahern (Skerries); P Murphy (Carlow); A Brannock (Newlands); B Burke (Moate)
82 N Kilgallon (European); D Weekes (Malone); K Sheehy (Athlone); D Brabazon (Balbriggan); T Ryan (Malahide)
83 P O’Hagan (Wicklow); B Donlon (Birr); R Timlin (Galway); E Murphy (Royal Curragh); P Higgins (Forrest Little); J Gore (Oughterard)
84 J Crowley (Athy); A Smith (Blainroe); V Smyth (Co. Louth); G O’Kennedy (Athlone); M Kirby (Grange)
85 H MacKeown (Portmarnock); G Mellerick (Fota island); D Roberts (Rathcore); P Brennan (Palmerstown Stud); N Woods (Bangor); M Eager (Lucan)
86 L MacNamara (Rosslare); L Adams (The Heath); S Ward (Laytown and Bettystown ); J Crowley (The Island); T Byrne (Dun Laoghaire); P Hautz (Delgany); J Noonan (Grange); B O’Malley (The Royal Dublin); P Smyth (Killiney )
87 E Connolly (Blainroe); J Dowey (Lurgan golf club); P O’Flanagan (Woodbrook); K Lapsley (Dunfanaghy); P Cooley (Portstewart); G Phelan (Woodenbridge)
88 J Dempsey (Royal Curragh); T Byrne (Greystones); M Higgins (Claremorris); J Whelan (Canada); C Muldowney (Grange)
89 D Timbs (Strandhill); R Cotter (Delgany)
90 M Gaynor (Co. Meath); E Bourke (Castle); P Morgan (Co. Sligo)
91 T Griffin (Corballis Links); P O’Grady (The Royal Dublin)
92 P McCormack (Dun Laoghaire)
93 L O’Connor (Stackstown); D Lindsay (Strandhill); J Collins (Bearna)
95 P O’Brien (Forrest Little); T McGlynn (Craddockstown)
96 A Clarke (Co. Louth)
97 F McGowan (Athlone)
NR S Duffy (Westmanstown); A Bell (Greencastle); L Doran (Ardee); NS W Todd (Blackwood) RTD S Prendergast (The Royal Dublin)