Strong Cork Challenge in Lahinch, South of Ireland Day 3

AIG Senior Cup, Mallow Golf Club, Sunday 25thth June 2017Weather conditions in Lahinch were slightly better today as the opening two rounds of the matchplay got underway.  After two rounds there are still five Cork golfers involved, with two all-Cork clashes set for tomorrow morning.

Kinsale’s Cathal Butler and John Murphy made it through to the third round.  Murphy had a two hole win over his Munster team mate Andrew McCormack this afternoon while Butler won on the 18th against Robert Brazill from Naas.  Butler will face Peter O’Keeffe in the third round, O’Keeffe had wins today over two Limerick members, Owen O’Brien and Sean Poucher to book his place on the last 16.  Gary O’Flaherty will face James Sugrue in the final match tomorrow morning.  O’Flaherty needed all 18 holes this morning to beat Keith Murphy while this afternoon he dispatched Stephen Loftus 5&4.  Sugrue was the last player left on the course this evening and he wrapped up his match with Darragh Coghlan on the 17th.  With eight Cork qualifiers the hopes were high that someone might follow in Mervyn Owens footsteps and claim the prestigious South title.  After today there are still five with a chance.  Gary Ward won this morning but fell to Colm Campbell in the second round match this afternoon.  Two Cork qualifiers lost out in this morning’s first round.  Sean Desmond was handed a tough draw when he was put up against Conor O’Rourke from Naas.  The form book ruled and O’Rourke won 6&5.  Eoghan Long also lost out, beaten by the top qualifier Rowan Lester.

Saturday 29 July 2017
Round 3 Match Play DRAW


No Time  
1 08:00 Conor O’Rourke ( Naas) –v- Thomas Mulligan (Laytown & Bettystown)
2 08:10 Pat Murray (Clontarf) –v- Rowan Lester (Hermitage)
3 08:20 Paul Murphy (Rosslare) –v- Barry Anderson (The Royal Dublin)
4 08:30 Rory Williamson (Holywood) –v- William Russell (Clandeboye)
5 08:40 Jake Whelan (Newlands) -v- Robbie Cannon (Balbriggan)
6 08:50 Peter O’Keeffe (Douglas) –v- Cathal Butler (Kinsale)
7 09:00 Colm Campbell (Warrenpoint) –v-  John Murphy (Kinsale)
8 09:10 Gary O’Flaherty (Cork) –v- James Sugrue (Mallow)


Conor  O’Rourke (Naas) bt  Joe Lyons (Galway) 4/3

Thomas Mulligan (Laytown & Bettystown bt Jonathan Yates (Naas) 2/1

Pat Murray (Clontarf) bt Eugene Smith (Laytown & Bettystown) 1H

Rowan Lester (Hermitage) bt Mark Morrissey (Co Sligo) 7/5

Paul Murphy (Rosslare) bt Thomas O’Connor (Athlone) 19th

Barry Anderson (the Royal Dublin) bt Hugh Foley (The Royal Dublin) 3/2

Rory Williamson (Holywood) bt Paul Coughlan (Castleknock) 3/1

William Russell (Clandeboye) bt Eanna Griffin (Waterford) 1H

Jake Whelan (Newlands) bt Stuart Grehan (Tullamore) 1H

Robert Cannon (Balbriggan) bt Ed Stack (Ballybunion) 3/2

Peter O’Keeffe (Douglas) bt  Sean Poucher (Limerick) 1H

Cathal Butler (Kinsale) bt Robert Brazill (Naas) 1H

Colm Campbell Jnr (Warrenpoint) bt Gary Ward (Kinsale) 4/3

John Murphy (Kinsale) bt  Andrew McCormack (Castletroy) 2H

Gary O’Flaherty (Cork) bt Stephen Loftuas (Yas Links Golf Club UAE) 5/4

James Sugrue (Mallow) bt Darragh Coghlan (Portmarnock) 2/1