Deasy in the mix in Ballina, Irish Boys Under 14

AIG Junior Cup South Munster Area Final, Bandon Golf Club, Wednesday 12th July 2017Mel Deasy (Bantry Bay) is comfortably inside the top ten after the first round of the Irish Boys Under 14 Championship in Ballina.  Deasy finished with a birdie three on the 18th to sign for a three over par 74.  Deasy has been playing some fine golf this year and has been a key member of the Bantry Bay AIG Junior Cup team.

Zak Collins (Douglas) is two shots behind Deasy in 13th place,  Collins had a disappointing end to his round but he’s in touch of the the top tem.  Leader Joshua Hill (Galgorn Castle) shot an amazing five under par 66 to hold the lead by two shots.  Hill had two eagles to record the impressive score on the opening day.   Round two gets underway tomorrow.

GOLF: Irish Under 14 Boys Amateur Open Championship

Ballina Golf Club, Round 1 Scores – Thursday 3 August 2017

66 J Hill (Galgorm Castle)
68 E Rowe (Tandragee)
72 B Hanratty (Donabate)
73 L Abom (Edmondstown); C McFadden (Headfort); J Byrne (Baltinglass)
74 M Deasy (Bantry Bay); G O’Neill (Malahide); R Fives (Faithlegg)
75 M Holohan (Seapoint); A Murray (Roganstown); T Higgins (Roscommon)
76 S Lenihan (Goldcoast); Z Collins (Douglas); E McArthur (Massereene); S Calvert (Ballykisteen)
77 M Whelan (Ennis); J Quinn(Castle); B St. John (Portmarnock); L Cunningham (Mountbellew)
78 S Dobson (University of Texas); L Fox (Tandragee); P McGrath (Cregmore)
79 L McKeen (Co Louth); C Gleeson (Limerick); S McLoughlin (Co Sligo); S Neenan (Balmoral); M Fitzgibbon (Howth)
80 M O’Brien (Elm Park); J McArthur (Massereene); M Cully (Royal Tara); C Keenan (Balmoral); L Kelly (Belvoir Park)
81 E Magill (East Clare); B Hanratty (Donabate); R Campbell (Greenacres); C O’Connor (Roscommon)
82 T Abom (Edmondstown); A Dineen (Cork); O Reilly (Newlands); M Carson (Royal Belfast); M O Sullivan (Ballyneety); E Freeman (Naas)
83 D Mulligan (Laytown & Bettystown); S Hogan (Fota Island); J Walsh (Kinsale); E Gallagher (Donabate); A Darrah (Ballyclare); D Smyth (Castle); R McClelland (Holywood)
84 C O’Sullivan (Killiney); F Dobbin (Balmoral)
85 F Hoare (Roscommon)
86 S Mulryan (Royal Tara); J Cunningham (Carton House); C Quinn (Castle); A Brady (Co. Sligo); G Rochford (Bray)
87 L Freeman (Ballaghaderreen)
88 S Spicer (Dromoland); T Gedge (Bangor)
90 K Connaughton (Roscommon); C Scullion (Moyola Park); P Ó Dochartaigh (Gweedore)
93 C Rowe (Tandragee); M Pippet (Blainroe); D McDonogh (Oughterard)
94 K Anderson (Galgorm Castle)
95 N Fleming (Tubbercurry)
97 C Mohan (Seapoint); J McNulty (Headfort)
101 E Fitzpatrick (Co Sligo)
104 T Morrison (Carrickfergus)