Super 66 from Sugrue at the South

AIG Senior Cup Area Semi Finals 2018Cork Golf Club Sunday 24th June 2018

James Sugrue

Defending Champion James Sugrue was among the pace-setters in Lahinch today as he marched around the famous links.  The Mallow man had six birdies and no bogies, he was two under at the turn and came back in four under par thanks to more birdies at the 10th, 12th, 13th and 18th.  It’s been a few decades since anyone has retained the South of Ireland, and while James will not be of Sunday afternoon just yet – it does mean he’s still holding the form that saw him feature in several competitions in June and July.  Sugrue is in third place after Mark Power and Reece Black posted rounds of 65.  With the 36 hole strokeplay cut (top 64) currently around the +2 mark, it looks like all three golfers will just need a level par round or slightly worse tomorrow to book a place in the matchplay phase.


AIG Senior Cup Area Semi Finals 2018Cork Golf Club Sunday 24th June 2018

Cathal Butler

Kinsale’s Cathal Butler set the early pacewith a four under par round of 68.  That was despite being two over after his opening three holes.  It was a good day for several Cork golfers, Gary O’Flaherty joined Butler on 68 and John Hickey was two shots back on 70.

Gary Ward, Peter O’Keeffe and Sean Desmond are all in the clubhouse on level par, their currently in the top 40 and another similar round tomorrow should see them advance to the matchplay.  Eric Rumley (+2) and Kieran McCarthy (+3) are hovering around the cut mark while Padraig O’Connor and Greg O’Mahony are both on +4 and will need a steady round tomorrow.  Eoghan Long and Ian O’Rourke are both on +6 and will need to go low in round two, Ian Bohane and Cillian Twomey are a few shots further back.

R1 Results:

CSS = 74
65 M Power (Kilkenny); R Black (Hilton Templepatrick)
66 J Sugrue (Mallow); J Yates (Naas); C Rafferty (Dundalk)
67 M McCormack (Moss Creek,USA)
68 J McDonnell (Forrest Little); C Butler (Kinsale); H Foley (Royal Dublin); G O’Flaherty (Cork)
69 R Dutton (Tandragee); R Lester (Hermitage); N Carroll (Galway Bay); H Duggan (Kilkenny); R Moran (Castle); R Cannon (Balbriggan)
70 J Hickey (Cork); A McCormack (Castletroy); P Coughlan (Castleknock); G Royston (Cotswold Downs LC, South Africa); R Mullarney (Galway); E Smith (Laytown & Bettystown); M McClean (Malone ); S Watts (Cairndhu)
71 J Ryan (Castletroy); A Gleeson  (Castle); R Abernethy (Dun Laoghaire); A Fahy (Dun Laoghaire); R McKeever (Castle); R Williamson (Holywood); R Latimer  (Knock ); E Griffin (Waterford); P Kerr (Royal Portrush); D Foy (Laytown & Bettystown); P McKeever (Castle)
72 M O’Kelly (Limerick); K Egan (Carton House); J Kehoe (Limerick); D Brophy (Castleknock); T McLarnon (Massereene); A Ryan (Thurles); J Fox (Portmarnock); M Norton (Belvoir Park); J Blake (The Island); S Desmond (Monkstown); G Ward (Kinsale); P O’Keeffe (Douglas); P Connolly (Killeen Castle)
73 M Kalfjall (Wäsby, Sweden); J Rackard (Enniscorthy); M McKinstry (Cairndhu); T Neenan (Lahinch); T Clarke (Royal Portrush); R O’Connor (Co. Sligo); P Murphy (Rosslare); M Nolan (Dun Laoghaire); M Reddan (Limerick ); S Greenberg (Tandragee); M Boucher (Carton House); D Coghlan (Portmarnock)
74 M Horan (Birr); F O’Sullivan (Tralee); N Hearns (Mountrath); J Madden (Royal Portrush); K Shreves (Congressional Country Club, USA); D Morley (Oughterard); D McCusker (Moyola Park); R Berkeley (Dun Laoghaire); J Hearn (Tramore); E Rumley (Kinsale); A Doran (Co. Louth); J Whelan (Newlands)
75 D McMahon (Castletroy); J Walsh (Castle); C Woodroofe (Dun Laoghaire); G Dunne (Co. Louth); R Clarke (Wexford); R Brazill (Naas); T O’Connor (Athlone); K McCarthy (Kinsale); K Murphy (Dun Laoghaire); B Anderson (Royal Dublin); J Greene (Portmarnock); C Ryan (Dun Laoghaire); S Poucher (Limerick); H O’Hare (Fortwilliam); M Looby (Greystones); S Walsh (Portmarnock); P O’Hara (Kilkenny); O O’Brien (Limerick); R O’Doherty (Enniscrone ); S Flanagan (Co. Sligo); L Power (Galway); O Devereux (Carton House)
76 J Maginn (Mourne); P Murray (Clontarf); D Callister (Mount Murray, Isle of Man); P O’Connor (Macroom); G O’Mahony (Fota Island); H Gillivan (Westport); N McCann (Lurgan); N Schaffrath (GLC Berlin-Wannsee, Germany); G Collins (Rosslare); D Brady (Co. Sligo); P Carey (Nenagh); J Lyons (Galway)
77 J Bolger (Jnr) (Courtown); M O’Neill (Coollattin); S Barker (Mourne); R Knightly (Royal Dublin); P Sheehan (Ballybunion); P Brennan (Belvoir Park); J O’Leary (Dromoland); R Pierse (Grange); B Shally (Dromoland); J Doherty (Carton House); B Gilligan (Woodstock); M Burke (Galway)
78 T Ford (Co. Sligo); E Stack (Ballybunion); P Flynn (Tramore); A McDaid (Palmerstown House Estate); E Long (Monkstown); D Crawford (Bundoran); G McGrane (The Royal Dublin); M Buggy (Castlecomer); I O’Rourke (Royal Dublin)
79 R Kenny (Arklow); S Carter (Royal Dublin); J Temple (Portmarnock); T Cleary (Woodstock); C Geraghty (Laytown & Bettystown)
80 C Feeney (Co. Sligo); S Hogan (Nenagh); J Fletcher (Warrenpoint); G Nugent (Kilkenny )
81 R McCormack (Palmerstown House Estate); E Farrell (Ardee); I Bohane (Lee Valley); M McHugh (Abu Dhabi National, UAE); C Cunningham (Carton House)
82 G Fitzmaurice (Balcarrick); M McKenna (Dun Laoghaire)
83 D Murphy (Portarlington)
84 M Kennelly (Galway Bay); G Carr (Mullingar)
85 C Twomey (Fermoy ); B Loftus (Lahinch); C Vaughan (Limerick)
88 K Daniels (Loughrea)