Strong Cork Challenge in Lahinch, Day 3 Report, Round of 16 Draw, South of Ireland

James Sugrue Mallow Winner SOI 2017 (002)

James Sugrue Pic. Brian Arthur

It may have taken a few additional holes, but James Sugrue has made it through to the last 16 of the South of Ireland in Lahinch.  Having won his first round match 3&1, the holder was looking like losing his second round match, after being behind for much of the match he was two down with three to play.  He birdied the 16th and 18th holes to force the match onto the 19th.  After doing plenty of hard work he needed a 10 foot par putt on the 19th, and he was unlucky not to win on the 20th when Ross Latimer knocked in a decent birdie putt.  Latimer’s putter saved him again on the 3rd in what was a text book display of steady par matchplay golf.  The deadlock finally broke on the 22nd (4th), after a brief rain delay the players resumed with Sugrue birdieing the par five to claim the win.  Overall it was a good day for Cork golfers.  Peter O’Keeffe won his morning match on the 16th and he wrapped up his second round match on the same hole after playing some very solid golf.  John Hickey and Gary O’Flaherty both won the 18th while Sean Desmond wrapped up his match on the 16th.  John Hickey continued his good form in the afternoon and overcame Robert Morgan 3&2.  The all Cork matchup of Gary O’Flaherty and Sean Desmond promised to be an interesting match, with O’Flaherty taking a slender lead early on.  O’Flaherty stretched the lead the 3 holes on the 10th and while Desmond won the 13th with a great birdie, O’Flaherty’s birdie on the 14th restored the margin.  In the end the Cork member closed out the match with a 3&2 win over the Monkstown member.  Kinsale duo Cathal Butler and Gary Ward lost out in the first round.  Butler lost to Lahinch member Thomas Neenan on the 16th, while Ward forced his match to the 20th hole before losing out to Ross Dutton.  Round three gets underway tomorrow morning at 8am.


Lahinch LogoDraw Match Play Round 3 Saturday am 28 July



1          08:00   Eugene Smith (Laytown/B’town) –v- Peter O’Keeffe (Douglas)
2          08:12   Jack McDonnell (Forrest Little) –v-  James Sugrue (Mallow)
3          08:24   Reece Black (Hilton Templepatrick) –v- John Hickey (Cork)
4          08:36   Jake Blake (The Island) -v- Rowan Lester (Hermitage)
5          08:48   Alan Fahy (Dun Laoghaire) -v- Garry O’Flaherty (Cork)
6          09:00   Andrew McCormack (Castletroy) –v- Mark Power (Kilkenny)
7          09:10   Keith Egan (Carton House) -v- Paul Murphy (Rosslare)
8          09:24   Ross Dutton (Tandragee) -v- Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk)


Match Play Round 2
Results Round 2

E Smith (Laytown/B’town) bt R Mullarney (Galway) 2/1, P O’Keeffe (Douglas) bt G Royston (Cotswold Downs LC South Africa) 3/2, J McDonnell (Forrest Little) bt H Foley (Royal Dublin) 4/3, J Sugrue (Mallow) bt R Lattimer (Knock) 22nd,  R Black (Hilton Templepatrick) bt P McKeever (Castle) 3/2, J Hickey (Cork) bt R Moran (Castle) 3/2, J Blake (The Island) bt T Neenan (Lahinch) 1H, R Lester (Hermitage) bt D Foy (Laytown/B’town) 6/4, A Fahy (Dun Laoghaire) bt J Yates (Naas) 1H, G O’Flaherty (Cork) bt S Desmond (Monkstown) 3/2, A McCormack (Castletroy) bt R O’Connor (Co Sligo) 5/3, M Power (Kilkenny) bt S Watts (Cairndhu) 4/3, K Egan (Carton House) bt A Gleeson (Castle) 4/3, P Murphy (Rosslare) bt A Ryan (Thurles) 1H, R Dutton (Tandragee) bt M McCormack (Moss Creek, USA) 1H, C Rafferty (Dundalk) bt E Griffin (Waterford) 4/3
Match Play Round 1

R Mullarney (Galway) bt M Reddan (Limerick) 7/6; E Smith (Laytown/B’town) bt J Kehoe (Limerick) 3/2;G Royston (Cotswold Downs LC, South Africa) bt D Brophy (Castleknock) 3/1; P O’Keeffe (Douglas)bt M Nolan (Dun Laoghaire) 2H; J McDonnell (Forrest Little)  bt M Kalfjall (Wasby, Sweeden)  3/2; H Foley (Royal Dublin)  bt P Connolly (Killeen Castle)  7/5; R Latimer (Knock)  bt R Williamson (Holywood) 2/1; J Sugrue (Mallow) bt J Madden (Royal Portrush) 3/1; R Black (Hilton Templepatrick) bt D Coghlan (Portmarnock) 2/1; P McKeever (Castle) bt J Ryan (Castletroy) 20th; J Hickey (Cork)  bt M Norton (Belvoir Park) 1H; R Moran (Castle) bt T Clarke (Royal Portrush) 1H; T Neenan (Lahinch) bt C Butler (Kinsale) 3/1; J Blake (The Island) bt H Duggan (Kilkenny) 1H; D Foy (Laytown/B’town) bt R Abernethy (Dun Laoghaire) 4/3; R Lester (Hermitage)  bt M Horan (Birr)  3/2; J Yates (Naas) bt F O’Sullivan (Tralee) 2/1; A Fahy (Dun Laoghaire) bt P Kerr (Royal Portrush) 19th; S Desmond (Monkstown) bt N Carroll (Galway Bay) 3/2; G O’Flaherty (Cork) bt M McKinstry (Cairndhu) 1H; R O’Connor (Co Sligo) bt T McLarnon (Massereene) 3/2; A McCormack (Castletroy) bt J Fox (Portmarnock) 5/4;

S Watts (Cairndhu) bt M O’Kelly (Limerick)  4/3; M Power (Kilkenny) bt M Boucher (Carton House) 2/1;A Gleeson (Castle) bt S Greenberg (Tandragee) 6/5; K Egan (Carton House) bt M McClean (Malone) 2/1; A Ryan (Thurles) bt P Coughlan (Castleknock) 4/3, P Murphy (Rosslare) bt R Cannon (Balbriggan) 5/4; M McCormack (Moss Creek USA) bt J Rackard (Enniscorthy) 2/1, R Dutton (Tandragee) bt G Ward (Kinsale) 20th, E Griffin (Waterford) bt R McKeever (Castle) 3/2, C Rafferty (Dundalk) bt N Hearns (Mount Rath) 6/4;