Last Call for AIB Munster Mixed Foursomes, Muskerry Golf Club

Skibbereen Munster Mixed Fours 2017

2017 winners Skibbereen’s Rhona O’Donoghue and John McNamara receiving the Munster Mixed Foursomes Cup from Jim Hornibrook, Captain Muskerry Golf Club.

Entries for the AIB Munster Mixed Foursomes at Muskerry are filling up, it takes place on Sunday 26th August.  The competition is open to all clubs in Munster, and has a new title sponsor in the form of AIB.  The holders are Skibbereen, Rhona O’Donoghue and John McNamara won last year.  The Munster Mixed Foursomes started in 1937 as the Munster Open Mixed Foursomes Cup.  It was originally played for during Open Week where after a qualifying round there were 16 qualifiers who played Matchplay in the evenings of Open week.  The original cup is still presented to the winners and holds the names of many famous Munster golfers.  Previous winners include Jimmy Bruen, who partnered Miss G Horgan to win in 1940.  Miss M Rehehan was a three-time winner of the event, she first won it in 1944 and repeated the feat in 1954.  In 1955 she won it again and went on to marry her 1955 playing partner, Loyal Goulding of Cork Golf Club.  In 1988 The Irish Examiner took over sponsorship of the event and the competition changed to the current format where each club in Munster is invited to send a team to compete in the final.  AIB Bank have come on board as sponsors this year and over 30 clubs are expected to enter.  Any club who have not yet confirmed their place should contact Muskerry Golf Club without delay.