Muskerry Cork Fourball

Muskerry Open Fourball LaunchThe second Cork Fourball Championship event takes place in Muskerry on Wednesday and interest is building following the successful first event earlier this month.  The series runs over six qualifying dates with the top three pairs from each qualifier advance to the series final which takes place at the end of September.  From that event, the lucky winners will head off on a golf trip to Portugal.  The winners of the first qualifier were Paul O’Keeffe and Brian O’Keeffe from the home club.  They scored 45 points to win in a competitive field.  The other two pairs to qualify were Derek Kelly (Lismore) & Martin O’Driscoll (West Waterford) and Owen Barrett and Tony Hayes (Muskerry).  Ryan’s Marketing Manager Jerry Manley was delighted to launch their second major golf sponsorship, Ryan’s have sponsored the Munster Strokeplay in Cork Golf Club for the past three years.  “Ryan’s SuperValu are delighted to be involved with sponsoring the Cork Fourball Championship Series” said Manley.  It’s a great open competition which allows both members and non members play Muskerry golf club on Wednesday’s throughout the summer. The winners will be crowned the illustrious Cork fourball champions and receive a fantastic trip to Portugal.”

Muskerry Captain Diarmuid Linehan has been a busy man in the early part of the new season, he was heavily involved in both the Muskerry Senior Scratch Cup and the Muskerry Junior Scratch Trophy which took place recently.  “We as a club are delighted to be associated with a leading brand like Ryan’s Supervalu” said the Captain.  “This partnership is very important to the club going forward and will hopefully allow us to establish this inaugural competition and develop it into the premier fourball competition in the Cork area, provincially, and beyond.  It will offer golfers of all levels the opportunity to play our course for a unique prize in an extremely sociable yet competitive environment.  The winners will have the added bonus of being crowned the Cork Fourball Champions for 2019.”