Hickey leads Munster Boys

Fred Daly Trophy Munster Finals 2019Fionn Hickey (Muskerry) holds a share of the lead in Ballybunion after the opening day of the Munster Boys.  Testing conditions were in play all day as 68 golfers – including 11 from Cork battled with wind and rain, and there was little in the way of respite as the rain continued into the late afternoon.  Hickey had a tough start, he had a double bogey seven on the opening hole.  He was four over after four holes but two birdies on the fifth and sixth got him back on track.  He turned on +3 and a very steady back nine (+1) saw him card a leading four over par 76.  Hickey is tied for the lead with Knock’s Lee Mitchell.

Youghal’s Charlie Flavin shot 81 to finish in the top ten while Stephen Riordan and Ronan Feerick are in the top 20.  Robbie Walsh and Alex Dineen are in the top 30 while Eoghan Casidy, Mel Deasy and Keelan McCarthy are all in the top 40.

Round two gets underway tomorrow morning at 7.54am on the Cashen course, and with better conditions forecast the race will be on to post a score in top 45.  That’s the cut mark for Friday’s final round.  The cut is currently +18, but the weather conditions will have a big say on scores tomorrow.

Munster Boys Amateur Open Championship R1 (CSS 75 R/O}
76 F Hickey (Muskerry); L Mitchell (Knock)
77 N O’Callaghan (Greenore)
78 T Higgins (Roscommon)
79 L O’Neill (Connemara); L Abom (Edmondstown); D Keating (Seapoint); D Ford (Co. Sligo)
81 C Flavin (Youghal); R Fives (Faithlegg); L Cunningham (Galway Bay); J Berry (Doncaster GC); J Butler (Naas); S Walker (Roscommon)
82 C O’Connor (Roscommon)
83 S Riordan (Muskerry GC); O Reilly (Newlands); R Feerick (Mallow); A King (Faithlegg); S Calvert (Ballyneety); E Sullivan (Carton House); C O’Sullivan (killiney golf club); T Flanagan (Co. Sligo)
84 M O’Brien (Elm Park); C Connell (Newlands); C Feeney (Enniscrone)
85 R Walsh Jnr (Kinsale); D Behan (Naas); P McGrath (Cregmore)
86 S Downes (Royal Dublin); A Dineen (Cork); D Connolly (Castle Dargan); L Grinberg (Rinkven GC ); E Prendergast (Claremorris); A Challoner (Galway Bay)
87 F Hoare (Roscommon); E Cassidy (Kinsale); M Deasy (Lee Valley); K McCarthy (Lee valley); S Doyle (Black Bush)
88 B St.John (Portmarnock); I Winn (Ballyneety); P Byrne (Ballybunion)
89 P Naughton (Limerick)
90 D O Sullivan (Mallow); J Murphy (Douglas); A Smith (Mullingar)
91 B Scully (Portarlington); J O’Callaghan (Ballybunion)
92 D Muldowney (Carton House)
93 C Plower (Loughrea); A O’Carroll (Powerscourt); N Griffin (Rosslare); D Marshall (Naas)
94 R Milne (Faithlegg); T Abom (Edmondstown); L Curran (Westmanstown)
95 E Magill (East Clare); S Whelan (Royal Tara)
96 S Lacey (Newlands); E Shipp (Headfort); G Keogh (Galway)
100 S Carpenter (Forrest Little); M Duignan (Royal Dublin); J Mitten (Westmanstown); E Freeman (Naas)
104 D McNicholl (Westmanstown)
106 M O’Donoghue (Mallow)
NR 0 J Mackin (Dundalk)
NS 0 P Lagrange (Walton Heath England)