Sugrue & O’Keeffe named on Irish team for Home Internationals

J2016 Flogas Irish Amateur Open Championshipames Sugrue and Peter O’Keeffe were both named in the Irish team for the Home Internationals which take place in Wales in less than two weeks.  For the first time in well over a decade, Cork will be represented by two golfers in an Irish Mens team.  After missing out on selection for the European Team Championships in July, Sugrue finally gets his first senior international cap after coming close earlier this year.  The Mallow man earned several caps at boys level and after a three year gap, he’ll be back in Irish colours in Conwy, Wales.  Ireland won an unprecedented fourth title in a row last year, and this year they’ll be hoping to retain the title.

Both Sugrue and O’Keeffe have been on form all summer long, qualiying for the matchplay rounds in both the South and the Irish Close.  Last week they were both in Athenry helping Munster to win the Interprovincial Championship.  O’Keeffe retained his place on the as the second highest Irish golfer in the WAGR rankings, he was happy when the team was announced.  “I am delighted to retain my place on the Irish Team for the upcoming home internationals” said O’Keeffe.  “I am also delighted to have another Cork man in James Sugrue on the team with me and with John Murphy playing the Eisenhower Trophy this week – its been a long time if any when Cork had three senior internationals in the one year!

Irish Close winner Robbie Cannon makes the squad as does South winner Caolan Rafferty.  Irish Team Captain John Carroll has the services of WAGR top ten golfer Robin Dawson for the last time.  The Tramore man indicated that he will turn professional after the event as he’s heading for the European Tour Q School.  Kinsale’s John Murphy is not available for the event, Murphy and Lester miss out as the Home Internationals both will be in college in the US.  Murphy is currently in Carton House for the World Amateur Team Championship which starts on Wednesday.

Home Internationals at Conwy Golf Club Wales,12-14 September

Robbie Cannon, Balbriggan
Robin Dawson, Tramore
Alex Gleeson, Castle
Tiarnan McLarnon, Massereene
Ronan Mullarney, Galway
Peter O’Keeffe, Douglas
Mark Power, Kilkenny
Conor Purcell, Portmarnock
Caolan Rafferty, Dundalk
James Sugrue, Mallow
Jonathan Yates, Naas

Team Captain: John Carroll (Bandon)
Team Manager: Niall MacSweeney (Athenry)
National Coach: Neil Manchip