Strong Munster Team named for Fota Island Interpro’s

Phil Cooney, Captain of the Munster Senior Interprovincial Team

Phil Cooney

Munster Captain Phil Cooney has named the Munster team to play in the Senior Interprovincials next week at Fota Island Golf Club.  Cooney, along with selectors John Carroll and Michael Coote waited until after the AIG Senior Cup qualifiers last weekend to finalise their team, who will take on the three provinces from 4th – 6th July.  Munster finished in second place last year in Rosapenna and five members of that team were again selected.  Gary O’Flaherty and Robin Dawson took two of the four automatic spots available through the Order of Merit, with John Hickey, Gary O’Flaherty and Geoff Linehan taking three of the four selectors places.  Newcomers on the team include Kinsale’s Cathal Butler and Castletroy’s Andrew McCormack.  Both McCormack and Butler has great starts to the season and both won counting events on the order of merit.  Peter O’Keeffe makes a return to the team after several years as a professional.  O’Keeffe was on the team in 2007 when Munster won the title in Co Louth Golf Club.  2007 was a breakthough year, the Munster team Captained by John Carroll won their first title in 10 years.

Munster Senior Team:
Cathal Butler (Kinsale)
Robin Dawson (Tramore)
John Hickey (Cork)
Geoff Linehan (Waterville/Portmarnock)
Andrew McCormack (Castletroy)
Pat Murray (Limerick)
Gary O’Flaherty (Cork)
Peter O’Keeffe (Douglas)

Non Travelling Reserve: Eanna Griffin (Waterford)

Captain: Phil Cooney, Selectors: John Carroll & Michael Coote,
Manager: Jim Nolan, Coach: Fred Twomey

Fota Island